the oldest profession at least has a paycheck

While sitting ’round with friends post-ACN (Sunday night), there was some discussion of media projects. This was, of course, brought on by the mention of the much-loved books being released by iBooks as “prequels” to the Amber books. In any case, we covered a wide range of projects, from the Marvel novels to Star Trek to Buffy…. In answer to one question that came up as to why writers who have published original books succumb to the (often) outrageous deadlines and the gymnastics required by the licensors, I, of course, cited the issue of needing to pay the mortgage or send the kids to college. In case anyone was still disbelieving the impact these books could have on an author’s income, I’d just like to mention that I’m currently reviewing a contract for a work-for-hire on which the author might not even get cover credit. The advance is three times what the author got for their first original novel, and not quite double what they are getting on their 9th original novel.

6 responses to “the oldest profession at least has a paycheck

  1. No cover credit
    I was shocked when I picked up the novelization of Buffy’s 7th Season… not only is there no cover credit for the author, I couldn’t find the author listed anywhere, not even on the page that credited the writers of the individual episodes that made up Season 7.

    • In that case, my first guess would be that Chris Golden had a hand in it. But I have to admit that I’m not all that surprised to hear that cover credit wasn’t an issue. There are a number of instances where one already knows it’s unobtainable. I usually have to insert a clause covering it in the WFH contracts when appropriate (though repeats tend to show up with it already there, thank goodness). Luckily, I have a checklist for such things.
      BTW, may I say that I really like your submission records on your site: http://www.mythoslogos.net/write/index.html — not only does it show your dedication (with stories turned around next day) but I think it’s well-organized (a quality that amazingly doesn’t always follow submissions around).

      • I really never thought I’d run across anyone who thought my obsessive stat-keeping was anything less than a sign of an over-picky mind. Uh, thanks!

        • *laugh* I built an entire database to track my client submissions. And later on added in payments and royalty tracking along with a contact data base. Oh, and subsidiary rights too. So, I can certainly appreciate good record-keeping! Here’s to over-picky minds… *g*

  2. Money may not make the world go ’round, but it sure does make greeting each new day a lot easier….
    So long as you don’t find yourself churning out tie-ins for media projects you hate. Might as well be slinging toast and eggs for unwashed truckers*, at that point.
    * my sister’s least favorite in a long line of pay-the-rent jobs

  3. What suri said.
    It lets you pay the bills, and maybe have some fun in a universe you like (for some value of fun, limited by studios).
    But if it isn’t a universe you like, you may as well work in a day job you hate. Same difference.

Leave a Reply

