International Women’s Day Book Give Away!

In honor of International Women’s Day, I’m giving away some of my favorite client novels – written by women and featuring women characters.

The Prey of Gods (ARC) by Nicky Drayden – Amazing debut novel coming this summer from a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes and Nnedi Okorafor. A fantastic, boundary-challenging tale set in a South African locale.

Emilie & the Hollow World by Martha Wells – Alternate world Victorian adventure from the author of the Books of the Raksura. “Emilie is the best kind of adventurer — curious, courageous, stubborn, resourceful, and quick to make friends.” — Sharon Shinn, bestselling author of the Samaria series

Ghost Talkers (ARC) by Mary Robinette Kowal – From the Hugo-Award winning author comes a spectacular novel of historical intrigue and fantastical danger about Ginger Stuyvesant, American heiress in London during World War I and a medium for the Spirit Corps.

Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear – “Karen Memory is a book that gets going right away and never stops. Karen’s rough edges and obviously wicked intelligence are highlighted by nuanced details that establish her already likable voice as even more relatable; her charming (self-taught) misuse of phrases and terminology, and reflexive bravery and morality are just a few examples in this fantastic read.” ―RT Book Reviews, 4 ½ stars, Top Pick!

I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest – Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure. Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her. Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window. Princess X?

Heart of Iron by Ekaterina Sedia – In a Russia where the Decembrists’ rebellion was successful and the Trans-Siberian railroad was completed before 1854, Sasha Trubetskaya becomes one of the first female students at the university and when her friends – the Chinese students – start disappearing finds herself trying to stop a war brewing between three empires and on the run from the terrifying Dame Florence Nightingale!

Etched in Bone by Anne Bishop – The exciting conclusion to the story that began with Written in Red, featuring blood prophet Meg Corbyn. “I can’t tell you how rich this series is and how enthralled I am.” – Charlaine Harris, author of the Sookie Stackhouse fantasy/mystery series

To enter: Post a comment on this entry about your favorite novel written by a woman.

Only one entry per person. Domestic (US) and international entries accepted. Contest starts now and runs until Midnight Eastern Time, today March 8th, 2017. Winner will be randomly chosen.

20 responses to “International Women’s Day Book Give Away!

  1. My favorite novel written by a woman is probably Gaudy Night by Dorothy Sayers. But I also love everything by Kowal, Bujold, and Hambly. Not to mention Austen! Too many to name, really!

  2. Vivian Hernandez

    By far, the novel written by a woman that has stuck with me the most is Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by JK Rowling. I started reading the series very young, and it’s responsible for making me a strong reader and sparking my love of both storytelling and writing. When the sixth was released, I was just at the age of understanding my own internal struggles and that there were many that affected me in those around me. It was also the perfect time to realize that the world could always use a little more love in it.

  3. David Halterman

    I have a ton of woman authors on my must read list, but probably the one that I would have to call ‘favorite’ would be Boneshaker by Cherie Priest. Just a fantastic adventure that hooked me on all her works to the point that I had to beg another author (Kevin Hearne) to get me a signed copy of Ms. Priest’s works at her signing that I then picked up at his own signing. Yes, it was a mutual love-fest for Cherie Priest that evening! And yes, there is twitter evidence to this fact… https://twitter.com/DavHalt/status/268875027909332993

  4. By far my favorite novel by a woman published in 2016 is MARGARET THE FIRST by Danielle Dutton, also publisher of Dorothy, a publishing project. Just jaw-droppingly excellent.

  5. Toni Morrison’s Paradise is hands down one of my favourite books. It tore me apart and put me back together in a completely different way.

  6. Recently finished Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler. It may not be my favorite, but it’s still rattling around my head a few days later so it definitely made an impact. It’s set in a world that seems foreign yet all too familiar. It left me feeling melancholy yet oddly hopeful. I can’t wait to read Parable of the Talents.

  7. The Awakening, by Kate Chopin. I read it for the first time in college and it was everything.

  8. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones and The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley. I go back to these over and over. Thanks for the giveaway.

  9. Elizabeth Bear’s Karen Memory is one of my favorite books of all time, side by side with Cherie Priest’s The Borden Dispatches duology. Malinda Lo’s Huntress is easily part of my Top 10 as well. And of course, I could also name J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series for playing such a big part in who I am today as a person. But my answer this time will have to be Sarah Waters’ Fingersmith. Very few books managed to surprise me like that one. So many plot twists! (Basically, I wasn’t breathing by the time I got to the last few pages.) These are all great books by women who inspire me – very fitting today, I’d say.

  10. Kathryn Allen

    It’s hard to pick a favourite – but A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K LeGuin was the first fantasy I read not remotely based on folklore or fairy tales and an amazing original story.

  11. Kate Fornoff

    Villette by Charlotte Bronte

  12. This is hard! Boneshaker by Cherie Priest opened up a whole new genre of fantasy for me and a new type of B/A female character. Elizabeth Bear’s Pillar’s of the Sky series opened up the amazing possibilities for non-European fantasy settings, and that was awesome too. But I think Fortune’s Pawn by Rachel Aaron is probably my favorite: B/A female lead in power armor kicking alien butt, with a bit of romance thrown in on the side!

  13. Jocelyn Lindsay

    Frankenstein, Mary Shelley.

  14. realbooks4ever

    My favorite novel written by a woman is A Darker Shade of Magic, by V.E. Schwab. It has four worlds!

  15. It’s SO hard to pick just one. Helen Oyeyemi’s White Is For Witching and Catherynne M. Valente’s Radiance.

  16. Nalo Hopkinson’s Midnight Robber was the first book I ever read where I saw my own culture, my region, my mythology represented. For the first time, the genre I loved my whole life had room for me and my world. For the first time, I was part of the future. I had hope and tech and worlds to explore. I belonged. And for the first time I realized it would be possible for someone like me, from a tiny part of the world, to actually tell my own stories to someone besides myself. That maybe people would listen and enjoy. That some of those people might even be girls like me, learning for the first time that the world had room for my stories too. Midnight Robber solidified my longing to be a writer into my determination to be one, and my only regret is I never owned my own copy. My library discarded it shortly after so I only read it the once, but I’ve never forgotten it. Never will.

  17. Anne McCaffery’s Pern books were the first time I’d seen female protagonists in modern fantasy, and they’ve remained favorites ever since.

  18. One of my favorites books of all time is the Regency fantasy novel Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke. I love all the characters, the world, and the writing style! It has one of the best antagonists (and my fave Fae character) in the Gentleman with the Thistledown Hair. The main characters are full of pride and self-importance, and their journey, as well as the journey of all the other characters, especially Stephen Black, is amazing to follow.

  19. Despite all my love of Fantasy and SF, my favorite novel by a woman is The Last Time I Was Me by Cathy Lamb. It made me laugh and it made me cry. It has brought me new friends and new interests. I look forward to new books by Cathy every year, but this one is my favorite!

  20. It’s hard to pick one. I used to recommend The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell to everyone I could, because of the Anthropology. But there are so many impressive women who write SFF these days. I also recommend any novel by Ann Leckie, NK Jamison, Kameron Hurley or Aliette de Bodard. And then there’s The Golem & the Ginni by Helen Wecker, Hild by Nicola Griffith… Okay, obviously I fail the “talk about one” test. And I haven’t even mention the wonderful women on your list.

Leave a Reply

