Tag Archives: free book to good home

win an ARC of Alex Gordon’s debut GIDEON

Bonus! Alex Gordon will add a signed bookplate to be sent to the winner!

The weather outside is turning frightful but not as much as it did for the town of Gideon in December of 1836! You can read Sneak Peek #1 of Alex Gordon’s GIDEON to find out more!

“With the pacing of a thriller, this debut supernatural tale does a solid job of portraying the menace of small-town evil. While the demonic figure of Blaine is scary, the petty viciousness of the townsfolk is even more chilling. This will appeal to fans of books such as Katherine Howe’s The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane or Deborah Harkness’s A Discovery of Witches.” — Library Journal, Starred Review

“Most writers would kill (or, okay, maybe just maim) for a debut novel as electrifying as Alex Gordon’s Gideon. Anchored by well-crafted prose that features a creepy-as-hell villain, Gideon feels like Arthur Miller’s “The Crucible” brilliantly reconceived in a Neil Gaiman-esque universe. Gordon hooks readers from page one, as Gideon’s first few chapters are chilling and thoroughly engaging, making for a book that is impossible to put down.” — Romantic Times, 4 1/2 Stars

This much anticipated debut hits shelves tomorrow, but I’m offering an advance copy to one lucky reader!

To enter: Post a comment on this entry telling me your New Year’s resolution about reading.

Only one entry per person. Domestic (US) and international entries accepted. This is for an ARC, not the trade edition. Contest starts now and runs until Thursday, January 8th, 5pm Eastern. Winner will be randomly chosen.

winner, ARC of Jim Butcher’s SKIN GAME

Thanks to everyone for participating in the giveaway for the ARC (advance reading copy) of Jim Butcher’s SKIN GAME. It was fun to see what the trailer got people thinking. I’m debating adding up the Michael vs. Bazooka comments to see which one got the most mentions…

And the winner is… Maniah — congratulations!

As an aside, I discovered that our winner once produced a Harry Dresden pony mod — though she tells me she is currently closed to commissions. But she said it was okay to post a picture, so here it is. (click here if you want to see more)

win an ARC of Jim Butcher’s SKIN GAME

Jim Butcher’s SKIN GAME, the latest novel in the Dresden Files series, releases on May 27th. In anticipation, this authorized trailer debuted last week and now I’m giving away an advance reading copy (ARC).

To enter: Post a comment on this entry telling me what you find most intriguing in this trailer.

Only one entry per person. Domestic (US) and international entries accepted. This is for an ARC, not the hardcover edition. Contest starts now and runs until Friday, May 16th, 5pm Eastern (unless Harry doesn’t save the world this time). Winner will be randomly chosen.

winner of ARC of Anne Bishop’s MURDER OF CROWS (and more)

And the winner is…. Sandra Taylor with the caption:

Photo credit: Mark Dumont

Photo credit: Mark Dumont

“It’s a cold, hard winter out here – stay warm inside and read Anne Bishop!”

I will be sending an email to make arrangements. Congratulations! And thanks to everyone for participating.

win an ARC of Anne Bishop’s MURDER OF CROWS (and more)

In honor of the elemental we’re currently calling Pax, it seems appropriate to give away a copy of an ARC (advance reading copy) of Anne Bishop’s forthcoming novel, MURDER OF CROWS, the 2nd book in the Others series, along with a signed book plate from the author and a bookmark featuring the cover art. Bonus: If you haven’t read the series, a mass market paperback of book 1: WRITTEN IN RED will be included (and if you have read it, give it to a friend and get them hooked!).

Photo credit: Mark Dumont

Photo credit: Mark Dumont

To enter: Post a comment on this entry captioning the above picture.

Only one entry per person. Domestic (US) and international entries accepted. This is for an ARC, not the hardcover edition. Contest starts now and runs until Monday, February 17, 5pm Eastern (or until I dig out – just kidding). Winner will be randomly chosen.