happy release day!

Today is the release day for VISION IN SILVER, the 3rd book in the Others series by Anne Bishop

“Bishop (Murder of Crows; Daughter of the Blood) marvelously invents a rich world that is a faint echo of our own but ruled by wild inhuman creatures tied to nature and pushed to violence by the greed of humans who refuse to understand that they are not in charge. The delicate character of Meg is a fulcrum, a special human whom the Others protect, and her damaged but determined will is the key to this terrific series.” — Library Journal

“It’s time to revisit Namid, Bishop’s extraordinarily gripping world with its unforgettable, haunting characters. Award-winning Bishop is fashioning a richly textured series whose reimagined Earth is so unique, it is a character itself. However, it is the distinctive protagonists who make these novels so totally addicting and completely satisfying. The hard part is waiting for the next installment!” — Romantic Times, 4 1/2 Stars, Top Pick!

Also available today for the first time in paperback: Jim Butcher’s SKIN GAME, a novel of the Dresden Files.

Butcher (Cold Days) brings back wizard Harry Dresden for his 15th adventure fighting a rogue’s gallery of supernatural villains, but this time in a caper story. Harry has recently taken on the mantle of the Winter Knight, servant to Mab, the Faerie Queen of Air and Darkness, and she has a job for Harry. Mab has a debt to pay to Nicodemus Archleone, Knight of the Blackened Denarius, so she is loaning him Harry’s assistance. As holders of one of Judas’s pieces of silver imbued with a fallen angel, the Knights are very bad news. Worse for Harry is that the job Nicodemus plans is a raid on the vault of Hades, Lord of the Underworld. Dresden is no cream puff himself, but something of an amalgam of his own intelligence and cunning mixed with Harry Potter-like devotion to his friends and the cause of good. VERDICT This is urban fantasy par excellence, with magical action, moral dilemmas, and a wonderful cast. Series fans will love this, and there is enough backstory for newcomers. — Library Journal, Starred Review

happy release day!

Today is the official release day for Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear!

“Bear (Steles of the Sky; Blood and Iron) pumps fresh energy into the steampunk genre with a light touch on the gadgetry and a vivid sense of place. Karen has a voice that is folksy but true, and the entire cast of heroic women doing the best they can in an age that was not kind to their gender is a delight. Ably assisted by a U.S. Marshal and his Comanche posseman, Karen and the ladies kick ass.” — Library Journal, Starred Review

“Supplies all the Bear necessities: strong female characters, existential threats, intriguing developments and a touch of the light fantastic.” — Kirkus

“Bear (The Eternal Sky) gives Karen a colorful voice, sharp eyes, and the spunk and skills necessary to scuffle with bad types as well as to win over people whose help she needs. Her story is a timeless one: a woman doing what is needed to get by while dreaming and fighting for great things to come.” — Publishers Weekly

Also available today: Keys of Heaven by Adina Senft!

“This is a busy series with many characters, but the tension between Sarah and Henry takes center stage. Readers will look forward to more attention focused on the potential romance between the two in the next title in the series, especially after the cliffhanger ending that leaves a misunderstanding unresolved.

Sarah and Henry continue to dodge their feelings for each other as Henry grows closer to Ginny, who has unexpected drama with an English family staying at her inn. Sarah’s desire to become a better healer leads her to overstep boundaries as she tries to help a stressed friend with fertility issues, while she worries about her son, Simon, who is spending the summer working at a ranch in Colorado.” — RT Book Reviews, 4 stars

And now available in paperback: Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop

“Living among the shifters, vampires, and earth elementals known as the Others is a dangerous proposition for humans, but Meg Corbyn is no ordinary mortal. As a cassandra sangue Meg can see the future when her skin is cut. In 2013’s Written in Red, Meg had just escaped from the compound where young women with her abilities are held captive and cut for the benefit of rich and powerful men. In this sequel, Meg has earned her place in the Others’ Courtyard but still struggles with the urge to cut herself. Everything points to a violent confrontation between the Others, who control most of the world, and the smaller human population, who must never forget that they will always be prey to the powerful natives. VERDICT: Bishop excels at creating irresistible dark worlds, but this series avoids some of the baroque excesses of her popular “Black Jewels” universe while still having that startling otherness and a touch of sensuality. Her alternate America in which the natural world belongs to the Others and humans are interlopers is fascinating.” –Library Journal

happy release day!

Alex Gordon’s debut GIDEON hits the shelves today.

When Lauren’s father dies, she makes a shocking discovery. The man she knew as John Reardon was once a completely different person, with a different name. Now, she’s determined to find out who he really was, even though her only clues are an old photograph, some letters, and the name of a town—Gideon.

“Crisp and shiveringly disturbing prose, a solid plot, and well-developed characters all make for a deeply satisfying read.” — Publishers Weekly

“With the pacing of a thriller, this debut supernatural tale does a solid job of portraying the menace of small-town evil. While the demonic figure of Blaine is scary, the petty viciousness of the townsfolk is even more chilling. This will appeal to fans of books such as Katherine Howe’s The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane or Deborah Harkness’s A Discovery of Witches.” — Library Journal, Starred Review

“Most writers would kill (or, okay, maybe just maim) for a debut novel as electrifying as Alex Gordon’s Gideon. Anchored by well-crafted prose that features a creepy-as-hell villain, Gideon feels like Arthur Miller’s “The Crucible” brilliantly reconceived in a Neil Gaiman-esque universe. Gordon hooks readers from page one, as Gideon’s first few chapters are chilling and thoroughly engaging, making for a book that is impossible to put down.” — RT Book Reviews, 4 1/2 stars

Also available today: Sharon Lee’s CAROUSEL SEAS, the next compelling story in the Archers Beach series.

Sequel to National Bestseller Carousel Sun. A gripping contemporary fantasy thriller from master storyteller Sharon Lee, award-winning cocreator of the highly popular Liaden Universe® saga.

NO GOOD DEED GOES UNPUNISHED

Welcome to Archers Beach in the Changing Land, the last and least of the Six Worlds, where magic works, sometimes, and the Guardian husbands the vitality of the land and everyone on it — earth spirit and plain human alike.

Kate Archer, Guardian and carousel-keeper, has been busy making some changes of her own, notably beginning a romantic relationship with Borgan, the Guardian of the Gulf of Maine, Kate’s opposite number, and, some would say, her natural mate.

Oh, and she’s been instrumental in releasing the prisoners that had been bound into the carousel animals — which she’s inclined to think is a good thing. . .

Until a former sea goddess sets up housekeeping in the Gulf of Maine, challenging Borgan’s authority; endangering Kate and everything she holds precious.

. . .because the goddess has fallen in love in Borgan; and she’ll stop at nothing to possess him.

Archers Beach is about to suffer a sea-change — and the question is whether Kate can survive it.

“[A] pyrotechnic finale that plays out magically behind the ordinary facade of smalltown Maine life, evoking much of the romance and magic of [Lee’s] popular Liaden series.” – Publishers Weekly on Carousel Tides

win an ARC of Alex Gordon’s debut GIDEON

Bonus! Alex Gordon will add a signed bookplate to be sent to the winner!

The weather outside is turning frightful but not as much as it did for the town of Gideon in December of 1836! You can read Sneak Peek #1 of Alex Gordon’s GIDEON to find out more!

“With the pacing of a thriller, this debut supernatural tale does a solid job of portraying the menace of small-town evil. While the demonic figure of Blaine is scary, the petty viciousness of the townsfolk is even more chilling. This will appeal to fans of books such as Katherine Howe’s The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane or Deborah Harkness’s A Discovery of Witches.” — Library Journal, Starred Review

“Most writers would kill (or, okay, maybe just maim) for a debut novel as electrifying as Alex Gordon’s Gideon. Anchored by well-crafted prose that features a creepy-as-hell villain, Gideon feels like Arthur Miller’s “The Crucible” brilliantly reconceived in a Neil Gaiman-esque universe. Gordon hooks readers from page one, as Gideon’s first few chapters are chilling and thoroughly engaging, making for a book that is impossible to put down.” — Romantic Times, 4 1/2 Stars

This much anticipated debut hits shelves tomorrow, but I’m offering an advance copy to one lucky reader!

To enter: Post a comment on this entry telling me your New Year’s resolution about reading.

Only one entry per person. Domestic (US) and international entries accepted. This is for an ARC, not the trade edition. Contest starts now and runs until Thursday, January 8th, 5pm Eastern. Winner will be randomly chosen.

happy release day

Today is the official release date for Our Lady of the Islands by Shannon Page and Jay Lake.

This satisfying feminist tale ­set in an underexplored corner of Lake’s lush, mythical Green universe (Green, etc.) but entirely accessible to new readers ­features an empathetic middle-aged, middle-class protagonist managing the roles of businesswoman, mother and grandmother, fugitive, and unwilling savior with realism and grace. Clothing merchant Sian Kattë is assaulted by the charismatic rogue priest of the Butchered God, an encounter that grants her the unwanted power to heal by touch. Sian and her new abilities are misunderstood by her husband, lover, and daughter. She is hunted by the Mishrah-Khote physician-priests, who believe only men can be healers and accuse her of fraud, and manipulated by politically-minded relatives who insist that she stay away from both the public and her distant cousin’s dying son. Undaunted, Sian pursues her divine mission and encounters unexpected help from a woman in disguise; together they turn the second half of the book into a celebration of female friendship and cooperation. Page (Eastlick and other Stories) has done a phenomenal job of completing Lake’s work after his death, honoring his contributions and vision while giving the novel an emotionally authentic, coherent voice. — Publishers Weekly, Starred Review