happy release day!

Today is the official release date for All Systems Red (The Murderbot Diaries 1) by Martha Wells!

On a distant planet, a team of scientists are conducting surface tests, shadowed by their Company-supplied ‘droid — a self-aware SecUnit that has hacked its own governor module, and refers to itself (though never out loud) as “Murderbot.” Scornful of humans, all it really wants is to be left alone long enough to figure out who it is.

“Murderbot is wonderfully relatable, very funny and a great narrator, editorial asides and all. The story is well put together and sketches out an intriguing future, but the real draw is our host, and the result is a story that builds to an unexpectedly moving climax. More Murderbot, please.” — RT Book Reviews, 4 1/2 stars, Top Pick!

“This slim read is both surprisingly funny and packed with intriguing future worldbuilding, all the more reason to celebrate the sequel due later in the year.” — B&N SFF Blog

Also hitting the shelves today: The Gathering Edge by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller

A series milestone as we welcome the twentieth amazing entry in the nationally best-selling Liaden Universe® series.

The luck runs rough around Theo Waitley. Not only are people trying to kill her and capture the self-aware intelligent ship Bechimo to whom Theo is bonded, they’re also trying to arrest her crew members, and throw the dignity of an important passenger, the duly-constituted norbear ambassador Hevelin, into question.

“The anomalous scenario gives Theo serious choices to make, transforming the “safe space” into something much more perilous­and much more adventurous.” — B&N SFF Blog

happy release day!

Today is the official release day for Brimstone by Cherie Priest!

“In this pitch-perfect penny dreadful, Priest (The Family Plot) evokes the strangeness and charm of early-19th-century Florida and the fortitude of two spectacular protagonists. Priest wields a brilliant command of the delightful and the frightening in this enchanting tale. The detailed extrapolation of Spiritualist beliefs into reality makes the story even more terrifying than if it had a supernatural villain driving the chaos. The conclusion is both uplifting and satisfying, a fitting reward for the protagonists, who have each sought only to give help and love to those in need.” – Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“Priest weaves intriguing historical detail throughout this slowly intensifying tale of darkness, fire, and the power of human connection. Recommended for fans of Joe Hill, otherworldly suspense, and stories with a strong sense of place and history.” – Booklist

Also available today, the first of the brand new novels in the acclaimed Under Jurisdiction series: Blood Enemies by Susan R. Matthews

“Matthews’ intelligent prose, her genius for the unexpected, and her keen sense of atmosphere, produce an extremely compelling read.” – New York Review of Science Fiction

Andrej Koscuisko is a former Fleet Medical Officer for the Jurisdiction. But he also served as the Inquisitor for the Bench, a position both tempting and full of conflict. Finally reaching his limit, Andrej fled into Gonebeyond Space. Now savage terrorist organization Angel of Death means to make Gonebeyond its own, but the secret service of the Dolgorukij church, the Malcontent, plans to stop them. The Malcontent faces Andrej’s unplanned intervention at the worst possible time, and the only way to bring down an organization that has slain whole systems is for Andrej to once again risk his soul and sanity as an Inquisitor.

Want to see how it all began? Baen Books has also re-issued the first six novels of the Jurisdiction series in two omnibus volumes: Fleet Inquisitor, including Exchange of Hostages, Prisoner of Conscience, and Angel of Destruction, and Fleet Renegade, including Hour of Judgment, The Devil and Deep Space, and Warring States!

International Women’s Day Book Give Away!

In honor of International Women’s Day, I’m giving away some of my favorite client novels – written by women and featuring women characters.

The Prey of Gods (ARC) by Nicky Drayden – Amazing debut novel coming this summer from a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes and Nnedi Okorafor. A fantastic, boundary-challenging tale set in a South African locale.

Emilie & the Hollow World by Martha Wells – Alternate world Victorian adventure from the author of the Books of the Raksura. “Emilie is the best kind of adventurer — curious, courageous, stubborn, resourceful, and quick to make friends.” — Sharon Shinn, bestselling author of the Samaria series

Ghost Talkers (ARC) by Mary Robinette Kowal – From the Hugo-Award winning author comes a spectacular novel of historical intrigue and fantastical danger about Ginger Stuyvesant, American heiress in London during World War I and a medium for the Spirit Corps.

Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear – “Karen Memory is a book that gets going right away and never stops. Karen’s rough edges and obviously wicked intelligence are highlighted by nuanced details that establish her already likable voice as even more relatable; her charming (self-taught) misuse of phrases and terminology, and reflexive bravery and morality are just a few examples in this fantastic read.” ―RT Book Reviews, 4 ½ stars, Top Pick!

I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest – Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure. Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her. Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window. Princess X?

Heart of Iron by Ekaterina Sedia – In a Russia where the Decembrists’ rebellion was successful and the Trans-Siberian railroad was completed before 1854, Sasha Trubetskaya becomes one of the first female students at the university and when her friends – the Chinese students – start disappearing finds herself trying to stop a war brewing between three empires and on the run from the terrifying Dame Florence Nightingale!

Etched in Bone by Anne Bishop – The exciting conclusion to the story that began with Written in Red, featuring blood prophet Meg Corbyn. “I can’t tell you how rich this series is and how enthralled I am.” – Charlaine Harris, author of the Sookie Stackhouse fantasy/mystery series

To enter: Post a comment on this entry about your favorite novel written by a woman.

Only one entry per person. Domestic (US) and international entries accepted. Contest starts now and runs until Midnight Eastern Time, today March 8th, 2017. Winner will be randomly chosen.

happy release day!

Out today – Etched in Bone by Anne Bishop, the fifth and final story of Simon and Meg and the World of the Others!

“Bishop’s Novel of the Others series has truly been one of the most original and phenomenal UF series out there, so this fifth book is a bit bittersweet. While Bishop’s worldbuilding is second to none, it has been the characters and their relationships that elevate these stories into masterpieces. It appears that this will be the final Simon and Meg book (at least for now), since in her next book Bishop will turn to new characters in a different part of Thaisia. Bottom line, this is once again an epically amazing and thrilling story, but I really hope Bishop returns to continue Simon and Meg’s unforgettable journey because this didn’t feel like a finale.” — RT Book Reviews, 4 1/2 stars, Top Pick!

“The last book of the Others ends one of the most intriguing urban fantasy series ever written. It picks up in the wake of the events of Marked in Flesh, in which the Humans First and Last movement rose up, forcing the Others to deal with them. The Others are understandably dubious about allowing humans into their realm after all that trouble, and are keeping a close eye on the folks living in the Courtyard–­especially Meg Corbyn and her human friends. One final time (at least until the announced spin-off series), Bishop proves she is a master at carefully setting the scene before tearing it to shreds and throwing everything into delightful chaos: when a mysterious, powerful man arrives in the Courtyard, everyone knows the Others are watching to see how Meg and Simon Wolfgard deal with him. (We vote “teeth and claws,” but maybe cooler heads will prevail.)” — B&N SF&F Blog

Read the whole epic story!

Book 1: Written in Red
Book 2: Murder of Crows
Book 3: Vision in Silver
Book 4: Marked in Flesh
Book 5: Etched in Bone

First chapter of Written in Red!

new client: Dawn Cook/Kim Harrison!

kim-harrisonIt is with great pleasure that I welcome author Dawn Cook aka Kim Harrison to my client list! I’m very much looking forward to working with her on her future books!

Perhaps most well-known for her urban fantasy Hollows series featuring Rachel Morgan, Dawn has also written YA, traditional fantasy, graphic novels, and a one-of-a-kind world book. Her most recent release on November 22nd was THE OPERATOR, the second book in her Peri Reed Chronicles. And, of course, I’m also very excited about her upcoming prequel to the Hollows, THE TURN (you can read Chapter 1 over on her blog). The book hits the shelves in February.