International Women’s Day Book Give Away!

In honor of International Women’s Day, I’m giving away some of my favorite client novels – written by women and featuring women characters.

The Prey of Gods (ARC) by Nicky Drayden – Amazing debut novel coming this summer from a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes and Nnedi Okorafor. A fantastic, boundary-challenging tale set in a South African locale.

Emilie & the Hollow World by Martha Wells – Alternate world Victorian adventure from the author of the Books of the Raksura. “Emilie is the best kind of adventurer — curious, courageous, stubborn, resourceful, and quick to make friends.” — Sharon Shinn, bestselling author of the Samaria series

Ghost Talkers (ARC) by Mary Robinette Kowal – From the Hugo-Award winning author comes a spectacular novel of historical intrigue and fantastical danger about Ginger Stuyvesant, American heiress in London during World War I and a medium for the Spirit Corps.

Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear – “Karen Memory is a book that gets going right away and never stops. Karen’s rough edges and obviously wicked intelligence are highlighted by nuanced details that establish her already likable voice as even more relatable; her charming (self-taught) misuse of phrases and terminology, and reflexive bravery and morality are just a few examples in this fantastic read.” ―RT Book Reviews, 4 ½ stars, Top Pick!

I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest – Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure. Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her. Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window. Princess X?

Heart of Iron by Ekaterina Sedia – In a Russia where the Decembrists’ rebellion was successful and the Trans-Siberian railroad was completed before 1854, Sasha Trubetskaya becomes one of the first female students at the university and when her friends – the Chinese students – start disappearing finds herself trying to stop a war brewing between three empires and on the run from the terrifying Dame Florence Nightingale!

Etched in Bone by Anne Bishop – The exciting conclusion to the story that began with Written in Red, featuring blood prophet Meg Corbyn. “I can’t tell you how rich this series is and how enthralled I am.” – Charlaine Harris, author of the Sookie Stackhouse fantasy/mystery series

To enter: Post a comment on this entry about your favorite novel written by a woman.

Only one entry per person. Domestic (US) and international entries accepted. Contest starts now and runs until Midnight Eastern Time, today March 8th, 2017. Winner will be randomly chosen.

happy release day!

Out today – Etched in Bone by Anne Bishop, the fifth and final story of Simon and Meg and the World of the Others!

“Bishop’s Novel of the Others series has truly been one of the most original and phenomenal UF series out there, so this fifth book is a bit bittersweet. While Bishop’s worldbuilding is second to none, it has been the characters and their relationships that elevate these stories into masterpieces. It appears that this will be the final Simon and Meg book (at least for now), since in her next book Bishop will turn to new characters in a different part of Thaisia. Bottom line, this is once again an epically amazing and thrilling story, but I really hope Bishop returns to continue Simon and Meg’s unforgettable journey because this didn’t feel like a finale.” — RT Book Reviews, 4 1/2 stars, Top Pick!

“The last book of the Others ends one of the most intriguing urban fantasy series ever written. It picks up in the wake of the events of Marked in Flesh, in which the Humans First and Last movement rose up, forcing the Others to deal with them. The Others are understandably dubious about allowing humans into their realm after all that trouble, and are keeping a close eye on the folks living in the Courtyard–­especially Meg Corbyn and her human friends. One final time (at least until the announced spin-off series), Bishop proves she is a master at carefully setting the scene before tearing it to shreds and throwing everything into delightful chaos: when a mysterious, powerful man arrives in the Courtyard, everyone knows the Others are watching to see how Meg and Simon Wolfgard deal with him. (We vote “teeth and claws,” but maybe cooler heads will prevail.)” — B&N SF&F Blog

Read the whole epic story!

Book 1: Written in Red
Book 2: Murder of Crows
Book 3: Vision in Silver
Book 4: Marked in Flesh
Book 5: Etched in Bone

First chapter of Written in Red!

new client: Dawn Cook/Kim Harrison!

kim-harrisonIt is with great pleasure that I welcome author Dawn Cook aka Kim Harrison to my client list! I’m very much looking forward to working with her on her future books!

Perhaps most well-known for her urban fantasy Hollows series featuring Rachel Morgan, Dawn has also written YA, traditional fantasy, graphic novels, and a one-of-a-kind world book. Her most recent release on November 22nd was THE OPERATOR, the second book in her Peri Reed Chronicles. And, of course, I’m also very excited about her upcoming prequel to the Hollows, THE TURN (you can read Chapter 1 over on her blog). The book hits the shelves in February.

Happy Halloween!

halloween2016-gatekeeper2

My jack o’lantern for this year!

happy release day!

Today is the official release date for the new novel from Mary Robinette Kowal: Ghost Talkers!

“In this entrancing alternate history, Kowal (the Glamourist Histories series) introduces the Spirit Corps, a group that communicates with recently killed soldiers to gather important wartime information. It’s the summer of 1916, and American medium Ginger Stuyvesant works with the British Army at Le Havre to coordinate and lead spirit circles. When her intelligence officer fiancé, Capt. Benjamin Harford, uncovers a German plot to target the Spirit Corps and is sent to the front soon after, Ginger must use every power at her disposal to track down a traitor and protect the corps. Kowal’s depiction of spiritualism is richly imagined, and its complications and consequences are thoughtfully considered. Her depiction of the Western Front includes diverse characters often neglected in wartime stories: the many people who help Ginger include women young and old, people of color, and disabled veterans, all of whom are dismissed by the British men in charge. The well-drawn characters and the story’s gripping action and deep emotion will captivate readers.” — Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“Once again, Kowal takes an innovative premise and executes it superbly, imaginatively marrying history with a fresh fantasy concept. Though the romance between Ginger and Ben is bittersweet, the story never becomes maudlin — in fact, it’s absolutely riveting. The story moves briskly as Ginger struggles to identify a spy in the English army, revealing itself as an engrossing amalgam of romance, historical fiction, fantasy and mystery. I only have one caution: When you start , Ghost Talkers, clear your schedule — you won’t be able to put it down.” — RT Book Reviews, 4 1/2 stars, Top Pick!

Read an excerpt here!