2009 online auction to benefit diabetes research

Since I was outed yesterday, and the official listing is now up, I am hereby making it known that I will be participating in Brenda Novak’s auction for Diabetes Research. I offered a proposal critique for a novel last year and will be doing the same this year.

The official listing is here. Bidding starts at the bargain price of $2.

At Brenda’s request, a second critique is also being offered as part of one of the raffle selections. The listing is here. The package my critique is bundled with includes an EEE PC, a critique from Brenda, another critique from editor Kate Duffy, and a membership to this year’s RWA National convention (or other conference of the winner’s choice at same price). It looks like those tickets cost $20.

So, you can donate to a worthy cause and get great prizes. Auction starts on May 1st and runs through the month. I’ll post another reminder the day it goes live….

(And this is one of the things that I’d be tempted by….)

Items my clients are offering (will add more as they appear – because I don’t see the ones from suricattus and mizkit yet):
* Critique from author Jo Ann Ferguson
* Critique from author Jocelyn Kelley
* Books from Martha Wells: The Wizard Hunters (signed hardcover), Wheel of the Infinite (signed hardcover), Death of the Necromancer (signed hardcover)

Please feel free to link to this and pass it along to others!

4 responses to “2009 online auction to benefit diabetes research

  1. I just saw this up on Lit Soup. I think it’s a wonderful thing for you guys to do. I hope it helps.

  2. Brenda is a good friend and in all the years I’ve known her she never ceases to amaze me with her talent, compassion and energy. I’ll be participating again.

  3. I can definitely see how you could be tempted by that particular listing.
    And it includes a cooking lesson on top of everything. Be still my heart…

  4. Can I just say
    Jennifer,
    I would like to personally thank you for participating in this wonderful fundraiser. My 6 year old son was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes almost exactly a year ago. He receives a minimum of 4 shots/day and he has his finger poked at least that many times. In spite of the small bruises and riddle his legs and fingers, he is amazing and tough and an inspiration to everyone he meets. He handles it like a champ. He is so tough and never complains, but occasionally he will turn to me and say, “I wish I didn’t have to have diabetes, Mom.” Every single prayer he has said for the last year has included one line, “Please help the smart men(that is what he calls the scientists) to find a cure for diabetes”
    So on behalf of my son, Cameron, thank you for helping the smart men have funding to find that cure he’s been praying for.
    Sincerely,
    Jenn Johansson
    http://www.jennjohansson.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

