quite a different look than the U.S. cover

Japanese covers for The Invisible Ring by Anne Bishop

17 responses to “quite a different look than the U.S. cover

  1. Woooooooooooow. Preeeeeeeetty.

  2. Gorgeous covers!

  3. Those are gorgeous!

  4. Those are indeed gorgeous.
    , my partner, commented, “Way cooler than the US cover” when I showed her the webpage. đŸ˜‰

  5. I like that first cover. The second one’s nice, too, but it reminds me a bit of the Sailor Moon salute pose. Hee. Must stop watching so much TV.

  6. SO. FREAKING. AWESOME.

  7. Bwa ha ha ha ha ha!

  8. The Japanese covers look very manga-ish.

  9. Very nice.
    I’m not a fan of the photos and photorealistic art covers that are the current phase. Nice to see some interpretive art instead. Pretty.

  10. Very cool. I like those. … which begs the question – why does everyone else seem to get niftier covers than we do?

    • That’s a good question perhaps our friend the Agent here can answer.
      I love the Japanese cover for Tinker, for example. Motorcycle girl!
      And, too, the American cover for Erikson’s first Malazan novel was horrible, IMO

  11. Those are stunning. I don’t suppose you know the name of the artist?

  12. Infinitely, infinitely nicer. Wouldn’t work in the US, unfortunately, since our culture associates cartoon art with kids (and would particularly associate this art with girls), but holy crap, this is beautiful. Is that supposed to be Jared? I know women who enslave men are the “bad guys” in this universe, but with a guy who looked like that, I’d enslave him too. =P (But I’d treat him really nice ^_-)
    I’d also like to know who the artist is; I’m a manga fan, and would love to track down this person’s other work.

  13. It’s like “Tom Canty does manga.” Schweet!

  14. I think they’re beautiful, too, though it does make me wonder if all SF in Japan has a slightly manga flavour, at least in the marketing. As for the cover here–well, I could go on and on about SF covers. I believe the standard answer to why they are all alike is that it makes it easy for fans to pick them out at Walmart or in the airport. That may well have been true once, but at this point I believe the genre is actually losing sales by having such non-creative covers when the YA SF has such wonderful ones. The YA crowd, after all, does grow up and they’re not recognizing what they’re used to as fantasy in the adult SF section.

  15. Those are very pretty! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

