reading

Oh, dear. Jay and eBear finished their manuscripts on the same fookin’ night. And I also received notice of shipping on Kris’ revised Jani book. And I must get copies of the new Hal Duncan and Shannon K. Butcher’s debut novel, which just came out. Who will still like me when my eyes have fallen out of my head from all this? (Seriously… one of the best parts about being an agent is that in order to read cool stuff, one just has to wait for it to show up. One of the tricksy things is triage. *looks forlornly at copy of Mary Gentle’s Sundial in the Grave: 1610 started this weekend*)

Meanwhile, in query-land…. 50 or so got read last night, and I will only be asking for a sample from one of them. I currently have 4 requested fulls and 3 requested proposals in the not-a-client pile. Today’s query mystery is this: An e-query was rejected. Three days later it was resubmitted with a new title. The rest of the query (which is quite a bit longer than one page) was exactly the same. I know I get a lot of queries and I probably won’t remember them all (though I have an obscenely high retention rate), but it probably will take longer than 3 days for that to take effect (unless there is a convention that weekend). What was this person doing? I am confused. I can only see this process from my side of the fence and sometimes I just wonder…

9 responses to “reading

  1. Suggested thought processes for the re-submitted e-query:
    1. “She didn’t really read it or she wouldn’t have rejected it this fast. I’ll send it in with a new subject line and maybe THIS time she’ll read it.”
    2. “I didn’t query Jennifer Jackson yet, did I? Or did I? Oh, what the heck. If I queried and she rejected me, I don’t care if she thinks I’m a total flake for querying twice.”
    3. “Oh, crap! Nooooooooo, I didn’t mean to do THAT! Stupid computer! Stupid fingers! Stupid cat!”

  2. You know we plan it that way.

  3. Cut-and-paste error? They meant to send you a query on the new title but pasted in the other text?
    I live in horror of doing that in a novel ms.–pasting in a chapter from something completely unrelated. And then misnumbering it. ====80

    • Cut and paste errors are the wooooorst.
      I once sent an equery to Big Fancy Agent (not Jennifer) and forgot to take the “and I included five sample pages” line out of the template for paper queries. She wrote back, asking about the sample pages. I headesked, and sent them with an apology.
      A minute later, I was looking through my sent mail because something felt wrong…and I’d sent five sample pages from the wrong book. So I emailed her back with the correct pages and admitted I hadn’t had coffee yet. She was very understanding. *loffs her*
      *quadruple checks things now*

  4. Did you respond to the e-query with the same form letter, with a different subject line at top? 🙂

  5. If she already received your rejection, then she knew what the deal was. She hoped that you weren’t paying attention and sent it to you 3 days later. You should send her another rejection with a different subject line…lol! Oh, that’s mean, but funny! :*)
    If the story didn’t grab you or any other agent, she should have gone back and revamped some things. I wrote a dark urban fantasy and ended up with 62,500 words (after much editing). When I realized that I should have added a sub plot, I did and it is about 80,613 words. Some people need to learn things the hard way; maybe the person who queried you does to. Hopefully she will read your LJ post and “get it”. It was a funny story though.
    ~T. Green
    http://obfuscationofreality.blogspot.com

  6. From what I hear on the really shallow end of this pool is that most likely you, cuz yer a agent, y’know, have this *enormous* staff who read *all* the proposals while you’re out wining and dining and generally making nice with editors and bigwigs. While the other possibilities mentioned above ring true (especially the cut and paste error and the “did I send this to…?”), it’s also likely to be an attempted end run around that one crappy staffer who didn’t like their glorious opus. And they better watch out because when you *do* finally see that masterpiece you’re going to can that idiot reader so fast her head won’t have *time* to spin.
    Trust me, you’re better off not knowing these things. 😉

  7. Who will still like me when my eyes have fallen out of my head from all this?
    We will.
    Cross our ey–hearts. Our hearts. Yeah.

Leave a Reply

