things I did not do on vacation

*deleting (literally) hundreds of spam to get to the real emails
*answering 32 emails from clients/editors (104 to go)
*follow-up emails to silent editor-types who should have increased above email count
*pitch for new mystery proposal and submissions for current client
*marketing plan for very exciting book by brand-new client
*had an option proposal rejected, discussed it w/ client, put it back out to market
*agency-related accounting (saved my own for later)
*tried to figure out what manuscript to read next (narrowed down to 3 at the moment)
*started reading two weeks worth of queries
*laundry… sigh…

(But that’s what I’ve been doing since approximately this time yesterday… *whew*)

I also read no manuscripts or proposals. But I did read 3 1/2 books: Possession by A.S. Byatt, Shadows Bend by David Barbour and Richard Raleigh, and Auntie Mame by Patrick Dennis (I’m still working on Strange and Norell), ostensibly all for pleasure.

13 responses to “things I did not do on vacation

  1. You don’t have to answer mine about “Ill Met by Moonlight”! 🙂

  2. It amazes me, Jenn, that you DO read for pleasure. With all the work you have to do with and for your clients, I’d almost expect you not to touch any fiction other than theirs just out of sheer book exhaustion.
    But I suppose it makes you a better agent to know what other writers are writing too, natch?

    • See, Paul, the problem is that I always thought it was a grand trick to get some fool (I’ll not mention any names *g*) to pay me to read, since it was pretty much how I’d spent my free time anyway. In the beginning I got to read a lot. Of course, some of it wasn’t very good (some of it stunk beyond all stinkiness). Since then, though (once I started building my own client list), the agenting gig has allowed for much less reading and much more times spent on marketing and contracts and royalty statements and so forth. I did go through a bad patch a few years ago where I wasn’t reading anything outside of work at all. Luckily, I had a good friend save me from that dire fate and now I’m back to my old affair with books. It does need to be a *really* good book, of course, to make me set aside the now-instinctive tendency to critique and compare and assess. And, yes, I do think an agent who reads has an advantage in this biz.

  3. Will be interested to see what you think of Strange and Norell when all is done. If you post about such things. 🙂

    • Sometimes I get around to writing book reviews on the blog I co-author with … but it usually takes me a while. I have a backlog that I never seem to have time to get to. It’s currently at 4 hardcovers, 11 trades, and 10 paperbacks. Yikes. Anyway, so far I’m liking S&N.

  4. but what DID you do on your vacation? relax and have fun, hopefully? see sights and take pictures? take naps, at least? 🙂

  5. I’m curious, aprox how many queries did you recieve in that two week time frame?
    I hate to admit, but mine’s one of them 🙂
    Michele

  6. You have two manuscripts on their way, just to add to the heap. And one of those emails this morning was from me. But I’ve been working on “Cruel Sister” so I feel all smug and smarmy.
    What did you think of “Possession”? I read it when it first came out and adored it; picked it up again a few years later and it made my teeth itch. I’m thinking of waiting another couple of years and seeing how I feel about it in my mid-fifties.

  7. …had no idea…
    Is this a fairly *average* work day? Or simply catch-up?
    -=Jeff=-

    • Average, I’d say… except the number of emails is usually a little lower than that (though it does always seem to come in faster than I can answer it).

Leave a Reply

