win an ARC of Alex Gordon’s debut GIDEON

Bonus! Alex Gordon will add a signed bookplate to be sent to the winner!

The weather outside is turning frightful but not as much as it did for the town of Gideon in December of 1836! You can read Sneak Peek #1 of Alex Gordon’s GIDEON to find out more!

“With the pacing of a thriller, this debut supernatural tale does a solid job of portraying the menace of small-town evil. While the demonic figure of Blaine is scary, the petty viciousness of the townsfolk is even more chilling. This will appeal to fans of books such as Katherine Howe’s The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane or Deborah Harkness’s A Discovery of Witches.” — Library Journal, Starred Review

“Most writers would kill (or, okay, maybe just maim) for a debut novel as electrifying as Alex Gordon’s Gideon. Anchored by well-crafted prose that features a creepy-as-hell villain, Gideon feels like Arthur Miller’s “The Crucible” brilliantly reconceived in a Neil Gaiman-esque universe. Gordon hooks readers from page one, as Gideon’s first few chapters are chilling and thoroughly engaging, making for a book that is impossible to put down.” — Romantic Times, 4 1/2 Stars

This much anticipated debut hits shelves tomorrow, but I’m offering an advance copy to one lucky reader!

To enter: Post a comment on this entry telling me your New Year’s resolution about reading.

Only one entry per person. Domestic (US) and international entries accepted. This is for an ARC, not the trade edition. Contest starts now and runs until Thursday, January 8th, 5pm Eastern. Winner will be randomly chosen.

happy release day

Today is the official release date for Our Lady of the Islands by Shannon Page and Jay Lake.

This satisfying feminist tale ­set in an underexplored corner of Lake’s lush, mythical Green universe (Green, etc.) but entirely accessible to new readers ­features an empathetic middle-aged, middle-class protagonist managing the roles of businesswoman, mother and grandmother, fugitive, and unwilling savior with realism and grace. Clothing merchant Sian Kattë is assaulted by the charismatic rogue priest of the Butchered God, an encounter that grants her the unwanted power to heal by touch. Sian and her new abilities are misunderstood by her husband, lover, and daughter. She is hunted by the Mishrah-Khote physician-priests, who believe only men can be healers and accuse her of fraud, and manipulated by politically-minded relatives who insist that she stay away from both the public and her distant cousin’s dying son. Undaunted, Sian pursues her divine mission and encounters unexpected help from a woman in disguise; together they turn the second half of the book into a celebration of female friendship and cooperation. Page (Eastlick and other Stories) has done a phenomenal job of completing Lake’s work after his death, honoring his contributions and vision while giving the novel an emotionally authentic, coherent voice. — Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

link salad (client edition)

* There are only a couple more days to get StoryBundle’s Urban Fantasy bundle, which includes Elizabeth Bear’s Whiskey and Water (a Promethean Age book) and Jim Butcher’s Working for Bigfoot (three never-before-collected short cases from the Dresden Files).

* Congratulations to Mary Robinette Kowal for her nomination in the inaugural Voice Arts Awards in the category of Outstanding Audio Book Narration – Author Performance for her work on the audio book of Valour and Vanity.

* Read Saladin Ahmed’s short story about Islam and knights and allegorical poetry, Without Faith, Without Law, Without Joy.

* SF Signal interviews Martha Wells about the Raksura and her Three Worlds Universe: “I wanted to do something that was very different from my other books. I wanted a world where, as the characters traveled through it, the reader would have no idea what was over the next hill. I wanted scope to do things I hadn’t ever done before with magical cities, characters, and environments.”

* Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files: Ghoul Goblin comic series is now available in collected electronic form. It’s also available for purchase in physical form at your favorite local comics shop, Dynamite.com, and various online retailers through the Jim-Butcher.com store.

happy release day!

Today is the official release date for the new novel in Mike Shepherd’s best-selling Kris Longknife series: Tenacious.

There’s no rest for a Longknife—even if you’re a newlywed. Vice Admiral Kris Longknife’s honeymoon gets cancelled when she hears that the space raider’s home world may have been discovered. Finding where the raiders came from could be the key to saving humanity. If only uncovering their secrets was that easy.

As Kris returns home, she ends up tangling with a mutinous crew determined to take off on their own. The dissident group leads Kris straight into a new mess—a system filled with strange, deadly enemies poised to wipe another sentient civilization out of existence. Kris and her squadron are ready to prevent total annihilation, but the mutineers have other plans

* * *

Also, now out in paperback Star Wars: Razor’s Edge by Martha Wells.

Times are desperate for the Rebel Alliance. Harassment by the Empire and a shortage of vital supplies are hindering completion of a new secret base on the ice planet Hoth. So when Mid Rim merchants offer much-needed materials for sale, Princess Leia Organa and Han Solo lead an Alliance delegation to negotiate a deal.

But when treachery forces the rebel ship to flee into territory controlled by pirates, Leia makes a shocking discovery: the fierce marauders come from Leia’s homeworld of Alderaan, recently destroyed by the Death Star. These refugees have turned to pillaging and plundering to survive—and they are in debt to a pirate armada, which will gladly ransom the princess to the vengeful Empire . . . if they find out her true identity.

Struggling with intense feelings of guilt, loyalty, and betrayal, Leia is determined to help her wayward kinspeople, even as Imperial forces are closing in on her own crippled ship. Trapped between lethal cutthroats and brutal oppressors, Leia and Han, along with Luke, Chewbacca, and a battle-ready crew, must defy death—or embrace it—to keep the rebellion alive.

release day!

Today is the official release date for The Last Plane to Heaven: The Final Collection by Jay Lake.

The prolific Lake’s death in 2014, after a long, harrowing, and very public battle with cancer, gives extra weight to these 32 epitaphs. Lake’s command of language is strong and sincere, and his stories of everyday heartaches, filled with secret fears and self-delusion, whisk readers from inner geographies of mind to limitless gulfs of space. Lake’s characters emotionally embody the doomed heroism of Nordic gods sneering at grim fates, finding bittersweet redemption in dark byways of human ignorance. Reality is shattered when an alien controls a hardened mercenary’s dreams in the darkly romantic “Last Plane to Heaven: A Love Story.” Cynical humor greets oblivion in “The Speed of Time.” In surprisingly intelligent space opera (“Permanent Fatal Errors”) and a visit to the City Imperishable (“Promises”), revelations eschew oversentimentality for moral complexity. “Such Bright and Risen Madness in Our Names” injects pathos into the Cthulhu mythos, questioning identity and raising hackles. Malevolent faeries face metaphysical annihilation in a dying young woman’s cancer cells in “Her Fingers Like Whips, Her Eyes Like Razors.” And in “The Cancer Catechism,” Lake discovers faith in the inevitability of death. As he states, “In the end, words are all that survive us”; his fans and friends may find some comfort in the hope that his words will live on forever. — Publishers Weekly, Starred Review