win a signed ARC of Shattered Pillars by Elizabeth Bear

Photo credit: Karen Westerholm

Photo credit: Karen Westerholm

A snowstorm of epic proportions. A measurement just outside my front door shows 26 inches. Just saw someone cross country skiing down my street. And I thought — what better time to give away a book set mostly in the desert…

Shattered Pillars is the second book of Bear’s The Eternal Sky trilogy and the sequel to Range of Ghosts. Set in a world drawn from our own great Asian Steppes, this saga of magic, politics and war sets Re-Temur, the exiled heir to the great Khagan and his friend Sarmarkar, a Wizard of Tsarepheth, against dark forces determined to conquer all the great Empires along the Celedon Road.

“Bear maintains the nuance she is so capable of, in the way characters interact with and respond to new places, not quite subverting genre but pointing out how much more it should be.” — Booklist

To enter: Post a comment on this entry captioning the above picture of the author.

Only one entry per person. Domestic (US) and international entries accepted. This is for a signed review ARC, not the hardcover edition. Contest starts now and runs until Wednesday February 13th, 5pm Eastern (or until I dig out – just kidding). Winner will be randomly chosen.

29 responses to “win a signed ARC of Shattered Pillars by Elizabeth Bear

  1. Industrial accident at the vanilla icecream factory wreaks havoc on small town. Tonight at 10, more on how industrialized food affects us all.

    Great giveaway. Elizabeth Bear is one of my all time favorite authors and I have several books signed by her. She kicks ass. Just saying. Thanks for the chance to win.

  2. This coat is swallowing my head, but I think I can use this shovel to break free.

  3. In Soviet Russia, snow shovels you!

  4. I am the Snow Ninja! As silent as the falling snow and as deadly as an avalanche. Beware my trusty snow shovel, for it shall be your Doom.

  5. Take the snow shovel, start shoveling, and no one gets hurt.

  6. On the porch is a shoveling bear.
    It surely does not belong there.
    For its typical place
    is a writing workspace
    complete with a comfortable chair.

  7. I came from the future to bring you this.

  8. Come to Wisconsin she said. The weather is refreshing she said. *sigh*

  9. This is my snow shovel. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My snow shovel is my best friend. I master it as I master my life.

  10. “Of course it’s a giant spoon – how else do you eat a giant pile of sugar?”

  11. Snowcones for everybody!

  12. Bear thought that a snowstorm was the perfect time to do a LARP version of Fritz Leiber’s “A Pail of Air”

  13. “Oh, you think snow is your ally, but you merely adopted the snow. I was born in it, molded by it. I didn’t see the light until I was already a man.”

  14. Snow is the mind-killer.
    Snow is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
    I will face my snow.
    I will permit it to pass over me and around me.
    And when it has gone past I will turn the outer eye to see its path.
    Where the snow has gone there will be nothing.
    Only I will remain.

  15. Come back with your snow shovel or on it!

  16. The good news is, after clearing my walk, I won’t need to do my usual run…

  17. The hell with the snow, where’s my duvet?

  18. He likes the cold. He likes the snow. And he’s here for your souls. He’s the SHOVELER!

  19. And it’s snowing…again…

  20. I came. I saw. I shoveled.

  21. Dude, where’s my car? (Snowpocalypse edition)

  22. Ow, my back. Global warming my @@@!

  23. Didn’t realize Connecticut was beyond The Wall

  24. Pretty sure this is enough to hide the body. Waddaya think?

  25. The snow ninja fear no drifts.

  26. Silly Ninja, you can’t hide in that!

  27. Bear battles the snow monster
    Range of Ghosts was amazing. Cannot wait for Shattered Pillars!

  28. The contest has ended. I will contact the winner and post congratulations soon.

Leave a Reply

