four times the bids. four times the crits. four times the treats.

Last week on Halloween night, inspired by stories of generosity and transfixed by tales of adversity that surrounded Sandy and the storm’s aftermath (once I got my own power back), I proposed to auction off a critique of a partial manuscript to raise money for a donation to the Red Cross’s efforts to help those impacted by the storm. I became very quickly astounded and gratified by the response and when challenged by one bidder to accept a tie which escalated very quickly, found myself considering awarding four crits instead of the original one I had planned. With so many people needing help, I had to say yes.

So, congratulations to:
Ellen Weeren
Adam Boone
Vaughn Roycroft
Andy Rogers

Together the four of you have raised an astounding $6,000 to donate.

Watch your inbox folks as I will be in touch to let you know details for making your contribution, sending me the receipt, and arranging delivery of the partial along with figuring out a timeline. (I appreciate you all letting me know your flexibility regarding that last as this was a bit more than anyone bargained for.)

My thanks and appreciation to everyone who bid and especially to those who said they were going to make their contribution regardless of the auction results.

5 responses to “four times the bids. four times the crits. four times the treats.

  1. soooo excited~ thank you!

  2. Wow! This is such a generous contribution of your time and an outstanding result. As the one who proposed the tie, I suppose I bear the blame for ultimately quadrupling the workload. Thanks for creating this terrific opportunity for us to help those in need.

  3. Thanks so much for your generosity, Jennifer! I’m happy to be a part of it, and that so much was raised.

  4. This is such a wonderful contribution. I’m glad you did it, and congratulations to the winners!

  5. Thanks, Rena. And, thank you, Jennifer!

    Ellen, Adam, Vaughn… congratulations to you all. I can’t promise to always be immediately available. However, if you ever need an alpha/beta reader, please feel free to hit me up.

    I love the way this worked out! =)

Leave a Reply

