Happy Agent Anniversary to me! And free books to a good home!

On this day of June 1st in history…

* Superman, the world’s first super hero, appeared in the first issue of Action Comics.

* Author C.E. Murphy was born! (Wish her a happy birthday at @ce_murphy)

* In the Peanuts comic strip, Linus’ security blanket made its debut.

* In Britain, “Sergeant Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” was released by the Beatles. It was released June 2 in the U.S.

* The James Bond movie “Live and Let Die” opened.

* The Phoenix Mars Lander became the first NASA spacecraft to scoop Martian soil.

* Jennifer Jackson started her career at the Donald Maass Literary Agency.

To celebrate, I’ll be giving away some books. Here’s how to enter:

Post a comment on this entry and tell me what you would give me as a gift for an agent anniversary. (No actual gift giving required to enter.)

Two winners will be chosen. The first winner will be chosen at random and will have first choice of available books (see below). The second winner will be chosen based on which gift suggestion in my sole judgement is the “awesomest” and most clever, and will get to choose from the remaining available books.

Contest runs from now until Sunday, June 3rd, 5pm Eastern. International entries accepted. One comment entry per person.

Available books:
Bridge of Dreams by Anne Bishop (hardcover)
Ghost Story by Jim Butcher (hardcover)
Drowning City by Amanda Downum (pb)
Dead Harvest by Chris F. Holm (pb)
God’s War by Kameron Hurley (trade)
Truthseeker by C.E. Murphy (trade)
Clementine by Cherie Priest (trade)
Heart of Iron by Ekaterina Sedia (trade)
The Cloud Roads by Martha Wells (trade)

35 responses to “Happy Agent Anniversary to me! And free books to a good home!

  1. Gavin Cramblet

    Ahead of time, I would strike a deal with whoever takes out your recycling/trash to get a year’s supply of query letters you received but were forced to reject. I would then use them to construct a life-sized paper mâché statue of Harry Dresden.

    It may take thousands of queries to find that one gem, but once you do…

  2. Laurie A Will

    A magic wand that with one wave would reveal all best selling manuscripts and remove all others from your office.

  3. Cookies. I love to bake magic, delicious cookies that make one forget about the endless slush pile, contract legalese, or negotiation woes. Cookies make everything better.

  4. I’m sure the gift of an efficient (tax-savvy) intern would always be appreciated.

  5. John Hawkinson

    I would give you a real-life crystal ball (not a supernatural object), that you could set on a desk in your office. When initially one glanced at it, it would provide pleasing misty color views, lava-lamp style.

    But when accessed over the Internet, it would show all the rest of us up-to-date stats from the Query Wars, consistent with the latest Published Data from Letters from the Query Wars.

    When you, Jennifer, looked into the crystal ball deeply, you’d be able to see some information about market trends, how many messages were in your in-box (if that’s what you wanted), your calendar, etc. Personal digital assistant.

    When visitors to your office looked into it they’d be able to see what people on the Internet see, coupled with the pleasing smoky color views.

    Happy Agent-Versary! [I now regret this comment is not written in verse!]

  6. A thought-transcriber, which you can activate and deactivate any time you want.

    When you begin to read a manuscript, you activate it, and it will automatically transcribe all your thoughts as you go through it, which will enable you to enjoy the reading process, and still have all your feelings and views about the story at the end which you can review to make a decision.

    You can use it for anything and everything, so your own collection of thoughts.

    Happy Agent Anniversary!

  7. Happy Agentversary!

    Mmm. I will try to be clever and leverage an interest of yours for your gift.

    An all-expenses paid vacation to Castle Amber.

  8. I would give you a motorized La-Z Boy with a bookshelf built into the side and a massager build into the back.

  9. For the rest of your agenting career, I’d give you the gift of queries that always follow your submission guidelines to the letter.

    Oh, and ice cream. Every gift should include ice cream.

  10. Homemade ripened camembert-style sheep cheese (milk from my friend’s dairy), a jar of fig jam (from backyard tree) and a bottle of Carneros Pinot Noir. I believe in edible gifts.

  11. Happy Agent-versary!

    I would send you a query that makes you salivate, pitching a ms that reminds you why you love what you do!

    (A girl can dream, right?)

  12. Malvina Beatrice

    CAKE! It is required in every celebration!
    and a hug from Lord Voldemort.

  13. I would give you a small pocket of space time, so that you could take breaks/vacations/naps/do-what-you-want-time that don’t impact deadlines!

  14. I’ll give you an exclusive on my recently completed page turner with strong female characters and sky-high tension levels which I’m trying to market.

  15. Happy agent anniversary! Hmm, a gift. I will bestow upon you an all-expenses trip to anywhere in the world and a promise that, upon your return (and not when you’re incommunicado), you will receive an offer a day for the next month.

  16. Happy Agent Anniversary!

    On this happy day, I bestow upon you perhaps not the cleverest of gifts, but one I hope you might appreciate. I would give you the one that got away, that book that you loved down to your toes but never sold: I would give you that sale.

  17. Well, that’s a toughie considering I don’t have an agent. 🙂 But I guess a grand party with all of your authors, catered by your favorite eatery. All paid for by your “people.”

  18. Happy Agent Anniversary!

    I suspect my gift would be a handmade bookshelf, painted top to bottom with quotes from your clients’ books. Equal parts function and art!

  19. Happy Anniversary!
    I’d give you a “Temporary Cloniplicator”, which will allow you to temporarily multiply yourself, thus getting everything done and still enjoy a lazy afternoon whenever you’d like.
    (And while I was at it, I’d get one for myself, as well).

  20. Happy Agentversary!

    My magic gift? Everyone you wanted to get in touch with would take your calls as soon as you wanted them to.

  21. Happy Anniversary,
    Though they are hardly ever tame creatures, I would give you a gaggle of gremlins who would obey your every thought. Gremlins are proficient at opening letters, typing, checking emails, answering the phone (while giving the impression of an answering machine to screen all calls), keeping coffee warm (or other beverage of choice), and repackaging rejected queries. I’m sure you’re aware of feeding instructions.

  22. Anne Burner

    A year’s supply of you favorite coffee/tea, a wonderfully comfy chair and matching ottoman, and the perfect reading lamp to settle in with.

    Your Agentversary only comes round once a year, after all. 🙂

  23. Truffles, because chocolate makes everything better, even awesome agentversaries!

  24. I don’t know that I would give you anything that would make your job easier. Reading your blogs over the last few years I think you are one of those fortunate people who enjoy what you do. I imagine that finding a query that resonates gives you great pleasure.

    I did a quick search and found a recent interview. I don’t think I could top Jean Georges so an evening with your closest friends would be what I would give. I did glance at the menu, everything on the dinner menu sounds amazing. I would suggest for dessert the chocolate cake with vanilla bean ice cream. I was a soda jerk when I was fifteen so I know my ice cream. 🙂

    As a bonus I would throw in tea from Teavana, two of my favorites, Peach Momotaro and Golden Monkey.

    I enjoy your blog and I wish you twenty more years of success!

  25. I’d create a supercomputer for you that could respond to queries that don’t meet your guidelines or interests, read only the fulls and partials on which you would pass, and send out responses that the unfortunately-rejected authors would accept. Then you’d be left with only things you like. The computer would also be able to bring you tea or coffee or cookies or whatever you like and would be programmable to sound like any of fifteen famous movie robots.

  26. I would get you a bearodactyl. Because I want one for myself but can’t get one, so I would get one for you and then ask if I could come over and play with it. http://theoatmeal.com/pterodactyl_video

  27. I would give you immortality in the form of a character in a novel, which you would then hopefully represent and sell to a publisher.

  28. Jeremy Pittman

    I would give you inside knowlege of the end of the world, so you wouldn’t worry about queries for a while.

  29. Happy Agentiversary!

    I would give you a horse, because I firmly believe horses make any day better. Then, after straining your eyes reading queries and contracts and manuscripts and correspondence, you could climb on your horse and happily unwind, letting your eyes relax as they gaze at the world from between two fuzzy ears. (If you already have a horse, I would gift you a soft new saddle and trail bags so you could take snacks on long horseback rides. ;))

  30. I would give you the space shuttle Discovery, to be placed in the location of your choice: my preferred options being either the country, suburbia with houses on either side or inner city business district, surrounded by offices. The shuttle would be kitted out for the ideal home/office.

    Authors would queue to visit you. No-one would EVER turn down an invitation again.

  31. I would take the covers of every book you’ve ever sold, and use them to create an elegantly framed photo mosaic to hang up in your office!

  32. Happy agent anniversary!

    Your gift would be a guest judge position on the Top Chef finale alongside Sarah McLachlan, Kate Bush, Tori Amos and Victoria Williams. Afterwards, you all hang out for a weekend at Eric Ripert’s for a combined jam session, cook-off and Alienware-sponsored LAN party.

    That or world peace.

  33. I think a selection of your favorite chocolates, served while you get to have a lengthy conversation with your favorite celebrity would make for an awesome gift!

  34. I would send you “Mood Ring Hair Dye.” That way your hair color will always match your mood (and perhaps work as an early warning system for bad days).

  35. Pingback: Agent Annivesary winners! | Et in arcaedia, ego.

Leave a Reply

