letters from the query wars 11.4.2011

# of queries responded to this week: 0
# of partials/manuscripts requested: 0
genre of partials/manuscripts requested: n/a

Bad week for working on queries….

“S.” asked: “Seeing as you read the synopsis before the full, how do you see twists with fresh eyes?”

I’m not sure this will help… but I think in my case it became an acquired skill and even now continues to develop with everything I read. Plus, I have a background in literary criticism, which I think assists with deconstruction.

Also, some writers know how they intend the story to end before they begin to set down the actual words, and yet they can craft scenes full of suspense and tension. The flip side of the same coin in a way.

3 responses to “letters from the query wars 11.4.2011

  1. Ellen T McKnight

    I think that makes perfect sense. Even if I revise a scene numerous times, I still expect it to make my body go tense. If I don’t get that visceral reaction, then I know my words aren’t doing the job.

  2. It does help – good answer. Thanks, Jennifer!

  3. Try as I might, if I know what’s coming I can’t enjoy a story the same way. I love my mysteries and twists.

Leave a Reply

