happy release day + win a set of the trilogy

Today is the official publication day for The Shattered Vine by Laura Anne Gilman

“The final volume of Gilman’s Vineart War trilogy is both compulsively readable and full of complicated characterization… The constraints of Jerzy’s world become apparent as the story builds to a climax, which is both unexpected and utter perfection.” — Romantic Times, 4 1/2 Stars

“With a unique, pleasingly consistent magic system based on the production and consumption of wine, urban fantasist Gilman (the Retrievers series) turns a standard coming-of-age tale into something wholly new. The tale is dominated by vivid, absorbing characters, and Jerzy’s powerful narrative voice makes his joys and sorrows dramatic, authentic and potent. This intoxicating high fantasy will satisfy oenophiles and bibliophiles alike.” – Publishers Weekly [starred review] on Flesh and Fire

Available in paperback :
Flesh and Fire (Book 1)
Weight of Stone (Book 2)

To read more about this trilogy: The Vineart Wars

* * *

If not for the author of this series, I would have forever sworn off shiraz. (Still proudly ABC.) In celebration of all three books being available, I’m offering a set of hardcovers. Here’s what to do:

Comment on this post about your favorite varietal of wine (why is optional but feel free to share details including best glass of wine ever, best winebar ever, etc.).

If you’re not a wine drinker, just say why (for example: teetotaler, allergy, more of a beer person etc.).

Contest runs from now until Friday, October 21st, 5pm Eastern Time. One comment entry per person. For an extra entry, tweet a link to the contest with #Vineart hashtag. Winner will be randomly selected by moi.

29 responses to “happy release day + win a set of the trilogy

  1. I grow tempranillo (Spanish varietal) vines at my CA wine country home. Not enough for wine 😦 but does make killer jelly. I am currently in love with Ramal Vineyard Syrah by Buena Vista Winery (no, they do not pay me). I tweeted!

  2. For medical (not religious) reasons, I cannot have carbonation or fermentation. So no wine for me, but if you have not seen the movie “Bottle Shock,” I highly recommend it. Chris Pine, Bill Pullman, and the inimitable Alan Rickman portray the early days of the California wine movement and the challenges it faced against the French wine oligarchy.

    There’s one scene in particular with “dirty” wine that is really interesting and really exciting. You can stream it on Netflix if you have that option.

  3. I like Beaujolais Nouveau, Beaujolais, and Zinfandel. I emphatically don’t care for Merlot. I also like quite a few dessert wines: Port, but only if it’s a really good tawny port, Eiswein, and there’s a cool sparkling red called Rosa Regale that I get pretty tired of quickly, but I like it once in a while. (I make the most WRONG mimosa with Rosa Regale and Sunny Delight. I know, that sounds like a waste, but it really tastes amazing!)

  4. I love a good White Sangria, preferably with the fruit still in it. Maybe that makes it more of a Harry Buffallo, but whatever. I’m not picky.

  5. My favorite wine is still the deep-red, berry-and-smoke-flavored house label Chianti I had in central Italy, at a tiny little trattoria on the outskirts of Florence. The owner’s second cousin or somebody had a vineyard out in the country. They grew and bottled just enough for themselves and the restaurant. Granted, this was way back in 1984, and I’ve had many stunning wines since then. But that was the first *good* wine I’d ever tasted. It was a revelation.

  6. Give me a bottle of Chianti any day of the week (and any time of day for that matter). I studied abroad in Florence, Italy for four months in college and the taste of Chianti takes me back to Italian streets, the Duomo, and pasta. Lots of pasta.

  7. Ah, now if we’re talking sangría, I make a fantastic sangría. 🙂

    (It’s not white, though.)

  8. Question: is the contest open to Canadian residents?

    • Why, yes – yes it is. Something special to suggest from a Canadian vineyard perhaps?

      • Yay, thank you!

        One of my favourite Canadian reds is called Pétales d’Osoyoos, from the Okanagan Valley winery Osoyoos LaRose.

        Overall, I’m a fan of big, bold California Zinfandels. I also have a hard time passing up a nice Pinot Blanc.

        Oh, and mmm…. prosecco.

  9. I don’t drink much because I don’t like the taste of fermentation. Sweet, dessert wines cover it up most of the time, but I don’t have favorites. My mom always had a couple bottles of red from Firestone Vineyard in the Santa Ynez Valley of California.

    Since beer was mentioned, I have to shout out family. My cousins just opened a pair of breweries in the same area – Solvang Brewing Company and Figueroa Mountain Brewery.

  10. I’m currently on a sauvignon blanc kick, but I love love oaky chardonnays… for reds chianti almost always..

  11. Wolf Blass Gold Label has a FANTASTIC Shiraz-Viognier. A red-white blend, you say? Yes, and it’s divine. Smooth and sultry, flavorful and mysterious… how can you go wrong?

    This wine smells like blackberry pie and cassis, and it tastes like berry jam with hints of white pepper.

    I wish I had some right now.

  12. I haven’t found a wine I like, yet. (This may be because I don’t have any money to devote to it and thus always end up with cheap wines.) I don’t particularly enjoy the taste of alcohol, so I need to find something super sweet.

    But I had this crazy asti spumante that tasted how I imagine drinking liquid glitter would taste: sparkly and bubbly and yummy. Unfortunately, it was at a wedding and I don’t know the brand, so haven’t been able to find it again. *sad face*

  13. Sadly, I either react badly or cannot stand the taste of most wines. Sulfates are a migraine trigger, so no red wine, and most other wines taste sour and/or bitter to me. I can, however, drink some super-sweet wines like ice wine or spumante.

  14. I enjoy wine occasionally, but I know next to nothing about it. Truthfully, I am more of a beer gal.

  15. I’m not much for wines overall – I haven’t found a red that wasn’t a berry wine that could do for more than sipping a quarter glass, and whites and blushes, while they have a better track record, seem to also have more failure modes.

    I’m much more fond of homemade meads — even the surprisingly dry and wine-like crabapple mead a friend made as an experiment. Although his standard mead, of which he gave us 12 bottles for our honeymoon (talk about an old tradition revived, even if they lasted us considerably more than one month…) is one of my favourite alcoholic drinks of all time.

    However, when we did the test meal in preparation for our wedding reception, they served it with the Gewurztraminer made by Fetzer, and that was a revelation, Both that i genuinely liked it without any misgivings of any sort, and about the synergy of the right-wine-with-the-right-meal, which I understood intellectually, but hadn’t properly encountered. Before that, most of my wine tastings were of whatever was brought to the table by the extended family at the holidays, and generally based on that aunt/uncle/cousin’s ultimate preference, not the food to be consumed.

    Since my mother had the same reaction to the wine. it’s reappeared at family dinners since, and it’s still a very nice wine, but doesn’t always fit quite so well.

  16. My favorite wine is the Roscato. I’m not really into the dry wines because it has no taste. The Roscato is definitely not dry, but it has flavor that goes well with food, especially Italian. However, as much as I like this wine, it is only a tradition with my family. My mother, father, and myself will share a bottle. Its very special because going to school out of state, you don’t see your family much. It means a lot when I’m home that I see my family and I look forward in sharing it them at every Christmas and Labor Day when I’m finally able to come home.

  17. I prefer the sweeter wines. I’ve been on a Reisling kick, but I’m not partial to any particular brand. Not a fan of dry wines at all. Given a choice between red wine and beer, I choose beer every time.

  18. I love Malbec. Been on a kick for several years. It has what I like about California Cabernets (big wines!) but is far less expensive.

    I went to British Columbia on my honeymoon, and tasted many delicious Canadian pinot noirs. Our favorite, sadly unavailable where i live, was Burrowing Owl. We had it on the very last day of our trip, in a restaurant that was a former bank. The former vault was the wine cellar.

  19. I lean mostly towards the sweeter reds though if we’re talking with a meal I’ll go for a merlot or malbec. At a restaurant specializing in wines I recently had a claret that was lovely but I do not remember the name of it which makes me sad.

  20. My favorite wine is probably Pinot Noir, because they’re a little bit sweet and fruity, but not overpoweringly so. Since I grew up in California wine country though, I pretty much like all wines.

  21. I react badly to wine and can’t drink it, but I love the idea of it so a magic system based on wine tickles me no end. 🙂 There are several local wineries around here and one of them – called Stone Hill – makes an amazing non-alcoholic sparkling juice spritzer made with white grapes, peaches, and a splash of strawberry. It is heavenly!

  22. I’m not a huge drinker (mostly because I regret it the next day) but I love the occasional glass of red with my Italian food when we go out. We have a local winery around here that makes the most amazing Peach Chardonnay.
    farfallawines.com

  23. The Oregon wine industry (and the McMinnville area southwest of Portland in particular) is bounteous enough to keep me drinking locally for the rest of my days. For special occasions I like to dip into the 2009 Treehouse Estate Pinot Noir http://bit.ly/rqjC5X A glass of this wine greets one with a taste that is both softer and richer than an average pinot. It will transport you into an evocative epicenter of sensations that ripple over you from your first sip to the last tip of the glass. If you are fortunate enough to encounter it, then you’ll discover a wine that has a very special kind of magic.

  24. Love a good malbec now and then. Excited about these books and enjoying a glass

  25. My favorite is partly for sentimental reasons and partly because it was the first wine I actually really liked. Unfortunately, there’s no way for me to get it now, so I have no idea if it holds up. But northern Portugal is known for two things: port, obviously, but also sparkling white wines. Every vineyard makes them, and they’re pretty much all good. The summer after my freshman year of college, I went to northern Portugal on an archaeological dig, and we all rented rooms in this gorgeous little villa on a small-time vineyard. Bottles of their wine were available to us for 1-2 Euros each, and they made this delicious sparkling white wine, lighter and more summery than champagne. I loved it. But most of those wines are highly regional and don’t get exported, especially since Americans will generally choose a French or a Californian sparkling wine first.

    I also have fond memories of sitting on the floor in a friend’s apartment in Paris, drinking Beaujolais Nouveau (at 5 Euro for 2 bottles) and eating supermarket-brand chocolate mousse, but I’ve also never found a wine that turned my teeth more blue!

    Oh, crap. I’ve just realized I’m about 9 hours too late for the giveaway. Ah, well. I’m still intrigued by the books!

Leave a Reply

