letters from the query wars 6.3.2011

# of queries last week: 186
# of partials/manuscripts requested: 1
genre of partials/manuscripts requested: YA

# of queries this week: 149
# of partials/manuscripts requested: n/a
genre of partials/manuscripts requested: n/a

I’ve had several emails this week asking if I am currently open to queries.

Yes. Yes, I am.

My colleagues Stacia Decker and Amy Boggs, however, are closed to queries from June 1st until September 1st. (ref: agents at dmla)

For me…..

Who should submit: authors that have finished and polished a novel
What to submit: query letter (with pitch), first five pages*, synopsis (1-5 pages)
Where to submit: query.jjackson@maassagency.com
Why to submit: you want representation
When to submit: when you have a finished and polished a novel (echo, echo)

* first five pages does not equal random selection from chapter 3, unsolicited full manuscript, anything in an attachment, links to read somewhere else, refusal to send sample because I/my clients might steal the idea and/or a requirement to sign a waiver first, sending a prologue and explaining that it’s not the best part (if not, then don’t have one), comment that five pages isn’t sufficient to assess the work

5 responses to “letters from the query wars 6.3.2011

  1. Editing and polishing. Then more editing, and more polishing. And hopefully, one day, it will be ready for you. (*fingers very tightly crossed* )

  2. yeah, i suppose i have much more editing and polishing to do myself. just got my pages rejected by you. thanks for the consideration, though.

  3. Jennifer, would you be open to a query on a novel, if I already have a publisher interested?

  4. Do you often have query wars? I am a first time reader of your page and a new writer and would like to know if I have any hope of sending you a manuscript once I too have a “edited and polished” book.

  5. I’ve been reading through your archives and I gather from this post that you _do_ want to see the prologue included in the first 5 pages. Is that correct? Janet Reed wants the first 5 pages of chapter 1, so I figured I’d check your preference. Thanks for taking the time to blog, I’m enjoying these letters from the query wars.

Leave a Reply

