link salad: client edition

While I was on vacation the clients were not un-busy…. (as I can tell from my inbox too!)….

* Free fiction! World-Fantasy-Award nominee Genevieve Valentine’s story And the Next, and the Next available online. Bonus: read her post on How Elevators Work (so true).

* GoodReads is hosting a Q&A with Mary Robinette Kowal this month. Go ask questions!. Also of interest: her post on the importance of brick-and-mortar stores.

* Mike Shevdon posts about Sixty-One Nails at the Big Idea. Also, his round-up of historical articles behind the book. I find the whole quit-rents thing fascinating.

* Ken Scholes talks a bit about rejection over on Genreality.

* Amanda Downum discovers a variant of the Bloody Eyeball — Ia! Ia!

Bonus non-client link: J.D. DeShaw’s Lesson 4 : A choose your-own-adventure post about how to get published. Sometimes perception from the start of the road can be good to revisit (even for those in the trenches for a while).

4 responses to “link salad: client edition

  1. I liked Ken Schole’s perspective on rejection. Everyone has a different opinion on it but this seemed nice and objective. It was a good reminder that not everyone is out to reject out of hatred and spite even if it really, really seems that way after 50 rejections…
    And THANK YOU for the link! I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    • JD,
      Read the article and enjoyed it. I think you can short circuit that cycle a bit with professionalism and taking the time to put yourself physically in front of the editors and agents who matter to you, but only a little. While being slightly sarcastic, it is spot on. For me the way I deal with the whole fear of rejection is to remember, “This is all business”, They call it the publishing industry for a reason. These people are trying to make money. Unlike the folks at other companies who control production they are dealing with a very unique class of makers.
      It is rather like trying to run a global sweater retail business buying solely from people on Etsy.com when you think about it.
      As long as you realize you are selling a product and for every product there are markets with consumers and markets where there are no consumers it seems less arbitrary, at least to my thinking. It helps that I have 15 years of work in the corporate world around marketing and contracts.
      For those of us who write I think there is a sense this is magical process, or at least an arcane one. For those we are trying to sell our product, they might adore it and feel the magic but it is a day job too. They buy what they can market, sell and make a profit on. I write with that in mind, I have done my submissions with that in mind as well.
      Sean “Bane” Kelley

      • Very good stuff to remember, thank you! I have been trying to keep most of what you’ve said in mind as I write–being mindful of my audience as well as the market–but I doubt those two things will do it for me 🙂
        I haven’t yet been in the query process (besides a premature version) so I’m not sure how I’ll take constant rejection yet, but I’ll keep your words in mind.
        Again, thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  2. Rejection – just my take
    As far as rejections go I’ve been fortunate to understand from the beginning of the query process that it’s not personal, it’s a business decision. (Really who doesn’t like me)
    It still does sting sometimes but if it was easy everyone would write a book.
    I don’t keep track of rejections. I think looking at a stack of form rejections is a negative thing, I’d rather be positive.
    The thing you need to do is try and learn from the rejections. I would urge anyone to go to a conference. The query I took to the conference was based on a model I saw online from what I thought was a good source. I put my query out for exam by a panel of agents and it got hammered, that was a good thing. I learned at least what these four agents wanted.
    Just as a side note I received the most wonderful rejection from an agent some time ago. She held my query for six months and decided to pass. She said some very nice things about my work and encouraged me to keep trying. I was so impressed I sent her a thank you e-mail for the rejection. I didn’t expect a return but I believe when someone is nice to you its good to acknowledge the act. I was so surprised when she sent a fairly long e-mail in return.

Leave a Reply

