letters from the query wars

# of queries read this week: 108
# of partials/manuscripts requested: 1
genre of partials/manuscripts requested: fantasy

Most confusing query this week — the one that claims my webpage says I do not normally accept science fiction or fantasy…

So, a couple people took guesses on the # of queries I’d have on Monday morning after re-opening to queries on 1/15. And a couple people wanted to know the actual answer. My own guess was 196. Monday morning after email was sorted out, it was 169. Which represents Friday, Saturday, Sunday and ridiculously early Monday.

Thank you, mizkit – your guess made me laugh.

Yes, I did get one at exactly 12:00 AM on 1/15.

At this point, representing a week’s worth of queries, the count now stands at 292. Which means, yes, based on the number above, I’m already lagging a bit.

Answering other questions posed….

….if you neglected to send a synopsis with your query (even if you said in the query that there was a synopsis), I still read the query and the pages and decided on that basis.

….on that issue of other questions about a synopsis and when it’s requested, look for a post coming on the synopsis (the dreaded synopsis) in the near future.

….to those that asked about their pre-hiatus query. First, check your spam filters. I think everyone that has asked so far was sent a reply. Second, I have read – and responded to – all queries received prior to the hiatus. Which started on December 11 and ran up to January 15.

9 responses to “letters from the query wars

  1. Who was the first?
    I shot for midnight on the nose. I have been waiting to hear who sent you the first query. Are you going to reveal who submitted the first one?

  2. Oh dear. I guess I was too optimistic. Or maybe pessimistic, I’m not sure which… šŸ™‚

  3. Well I just wanted to say thank you. Thank you for the consideration. The Donald Maass Literary agency was the only agency I felt very strongly about, but unfortunately you weren’t impressed with my pitch. That is too bad, but oh well life moves on. I will find someone else to represent me, but it won’t be the same as if it had been you. Thanks again.
    Thomax Green

  4. Not your average…
    I get the feeling you’re not an average agent. You seem to have some empathy. Just a hunch.

  5. thanks for answering my question, I guess your reply is buried within my spam filter somewhere if you reply back to rejections.

  6. Oops, I just noticed your response in my spam box, but I’m afraid to say I already re-queried you. I wasn’t sure if my comment had made it through. I do apologize.
    -Renee Collins

  7. nothing better than a mountain of work to welcome you back, right?

  8. test audiences?
    After finishing my recent novel, I decided to assemble a test audience to see if the writing worked at all. More for my own security than anything else. These weren’t an assembly of friends, but essentially random ‘readers’ of my target audience. Is the feedback from them at all useful in a query? I realize authors could fabricate any remarks in a query, but feel compelled to ask.

  9. Enough of that work stuff …
    How’s your wrist?

Leave a Reply

