happy official release day

Today is the official release day for C.E. Murphy’s Walking Dead, the 4th book in the Walker Paper series.

For once, Joanne Walker’s not out to save the world. She’s come to terms with the host of shamanic powers she’s been given, her job as a police detective has been relatively calm, and she’s got a love life for the first time in memory. Not bad for a woman who started out the year mostly dead. But it’s Halloween, and the undead have just crashed Joanne’s party. Now, with her mentor Coyote still missing, she has to figure out how to break the spell that has let the ghosts, zombies and even the Wild Hunt come back. Unfortunately, there’s no shamanic handbook explaining how to deal with the walking dead. And if they have anything to say about it—which they do—no one’s getting out of there alive.

Book 1: Urban Shaman
Book 2: Thunderbird Falls
Book 3: Coyote Dreams

Also, today is the release of Elizabeth Bear’s All the Windwracked Stars in mass market paperback.

It all began with Ragnarok, with the Children of the Light and the Tarnished ones battling to the death in the ice and the dark. At the end of the long battle, one Valkyrie survived, wounded, and one valraven – the steeds of the valkyrie. Because they lived, Valdyrgard was not wholly destroyed. Because the valraven was transformed in the last miracle offered to a Child of the Light, Valdyrgard was changed to a world where magic and technology worked hand in hand. 2500 years later, Muire is in the last city on the dying planet, where the technomancer rules what’s left of humanity. She’s caught sight of someone she has not seen since the Last Battle:  Mingan the Wolf is hunting in her city.

“Readers will be captivated by Bear’s incredibly complex, broken characters; multilayered themes of redemption; and haunting, world-breaking decisions.” — Publishers Weekly

The prequel, By the Mountain Bound, will be published in October and tells the story of the tarnishing of the Children of the Light that leads up to their final battle.

Plus, you can now get Ken Scholes Lamentation in mass market paperback.

An ancient weapon has completely destroyed the city of Windwir. From many miles away, Rudolfo, Lord of the Nine Forest Houses, sees the horrifying column of smoke rising. He knows that war is coming to the Named Lands. Nearer to the Devastation, a young apprentice is the only survivor of the city – he sat waiting for his father outside the walls, and was transformed as he watched everyone he knew die in an instant. Soon all the Kingdoms of the Named Lands will be at each others’ throats, as alliances are challenged and hidden plots are uncovered.

“Readers will be intrigued by the subtle, adept world building and ensemble cast of brilliantly complex characters, but it’s Scholes’s pure storytelling prowess that makes this tale of devastation and retribution so unforgettable.” — Publishers Weekly

The sequel, Canticle (The Psalms of Isaak), is coming in October.

6 responses to “happy official release day

  1. A fine release day all around!

  2. Today is the offical one?
    Joy… I officially completed reading a book before it was official released. And it was before midnight last night when I finished reading it. Woohoo.
    Now to see if I can find a copy of Bear’s book.

  3. I love Elizabeth’s cover, and I was lucky enough to be one of Ken’s first readers for the rough draft of Lamentation, so it has a special spot in my heart. What a great series he is creating.

  4. Oh! Very happy to hear that both Bear’s and Scholes’ books are out in mass market format now. A trip to the bookstore is in order soon…
    You represent so many clients I love. It’s amazing.

  5. Amazon just delivered my copy of Lamentation a couple of hours ago. This one is jumping up to the top of the TBR pile.

  6. Just wanted you to know that I really enjoy your blog and have added you to my blog roll on my website (non-livejournal).
    Thanks for keeping this blog!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s