happy release day!

Today is the official release day for Jay Lake’s Green

She was born in poverty, in a dusty village under the equatorial sun. She does not remember her mother, she does not remember her own name—her earliest clear memory is of the day her father sold her to the tall pale man. In the Court of the Pomegranate Tree, where she was taught the ways of a courtesan…and the skills of an assassin…she was named Emerald, the precious jewel of the Undying Duke’s collection of beauties.

She calls herself Green.

The world she inhabits is one of political power and magic, where Gods meddle in the affairs of mortals. At the center of it is the immortal Duke’s city of Copper Downs, which controls all the trade on the Storm Sea. Green has made many enemies, and some secret friends, and she has become a very dangerous woman indeed.

“Lake (Escapement) makes a shift from steampunk to lush fantasy filled with exotic locales and exquisite descriptions… the story is nicely powered by strong mythic undertones and a fresh take on the relationship between gods and mortals.” –Publishers Weekly

20 responses to “happy release day!

  1. Wow! The cover alone would make me pick up this book!

  2. From the first time I saw this book advertised, I’ve been dying to read it. Interesting concept and a beautiful cover to boot! It’s on my list to pick up once I can justify the expense. Too many C.E. Murphy books in my TBR pile… 😀

  3. Hee! We bought it last night, didn’t even realize it was brand-spanking-new!

  4. That is a beautiful cover. The story sounds great, although I admit I feel a bit behind, since I haven’t even figured out what steampunk is and there’s already a shift away from it! 🙂

  5. I love that cover! So eye-catching.

  6. I am so freaking excited for this book.
    (And every time I see it, I’m stunned by the cover art.)

  7. Sounds really good. That’s the kind of fantasy I like — innovative stuff that gets away from the typical miscellaneous medieval European village setting. I’ll definitely have to check it out.

  8. This looks absolutely fantastic. Such a pity I simply don’t have space on my “to read” pile right now. Are e-copies available at all?

  9. I seriously can’t WAIT to read this one! I heard about it from Mary and it sounds so spectacular! And the cover is stunning!

  10. The cover is absolutely wonderful! Quite the eye catcher, I’ve been dying to buy it since I first saw it advertised. Never read one of his books before, but I’m excited! I’ll have to go out this weekend and buy it. I’ve been looking for new books to put on my tbr list.

  11. I had not heard of this book before today, but it looks brilliant. I am going to be sure to check it out!!
    -beth
    bethrevis.blogspot.com

  12. It shipped today. I’m excited!

  13. Fascinating cover.
    Happy Release Day!
    Now I have to go see if the store has a copy.

  14. I hate to sound just like everyone else, but… the cover does look amazing. I look forward to reading it.

  15. In looking around I found something more that makes this author fascinating. It’s not just that we’re “neighbors” we also share a diagnosis of cancer.
    http://www.oregonlive.com/books/index.ssf/2009/06/illness_isnt_stalling_scifis_j.html
    I just thought I might share this with others who might be interested.
    C

  16. Received my copy!
    Got it yesterday. Thanks so much! Look forward to reading it after I finish the books I’m in the middle of now (Lost by Sarah Prineas & Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner.)

  17. This looks fascinating. I hope there will be a Kindle edition eventually?

Leave a Reply

