link salad (client edition)

* Amanda Downum’s first chapter of her debut novel, The Drowning City (The Necromancer Chronicles), is now available on her website. The book will be available August 25th.

* In other online reads, Sharon Lee notes that Baen has posted the first nine chapters of Fledgling, the new Liaden novel.

* Elizabeth Bear discusses what her job is not. Interesting comment threads on this one too.

* C.E. Murphy reports: If both her Brenda Novak auction items (a gift basket and a Tuckerization (your name as a character)) go over $100 by the end of the auction on Sunday, she will do a special give-away on her blog.

As an aside, you can still bid on the proposal critique I’m offering, too.

4 responses to “link salad (client edition)

  1. Wow, as much as I’d love my WIP to be seen and critiqued by you, $500 is a hefty price (but a deal compared to some I’ve seen), with 4 more days to go. What a great opportunity for the charity though!

  2. I totally enjoyed Amanda Downum’s
    first chapter…perfect, now I’m going to have to spend more money.
    Read most of Elizabeth’s Bear’s post. Interesting, but I think it’s funny when people say there are no absolutes, then proceed to make a string of absolute declarations.
    $500? Wow. I actually thought about bidding for a minute, then I remembered I just bought a piano over the weekend and my wife will kill me if I spend another dime.

  3. I’m still bidding, but it’s climbing pretty steep now!
    I think this is one of the most amazing events I’ve ever seen. I didn’t know it existed until I read one of your earlier posts. I work in the Faculty of Health and any attempt to raise money for such a cause has my vote and my bid.
    Even if I don’t get the prize at least I will have boosted the takings a little.
    I believe all the agents and other people who have participated with a prize to be auctioned should be congratulated, and I’m sure they will be rewarded in time for their efforts.
    I hope your entry raises a large sum.
    Chris Ballantyne.

  4. Is Elizabeth Bear still at it?
    The job of a critic is to interpret a work, even if it makes the artist uncomfortable. A number of people suggested there was racism in her work in January. Five months later, she hasn’t moved on. Apparently, her job as an artist is to ‘give it’ but not ‘take it.’

Leave a Reply

