where I’ve been and where I’m going

Just back from the London Book Fair where I met with a number of editors for foreign publishers as well as many of our associate agents that we work with on translation subsidiary rights. I went a couple days early for a touch of R&R which turned out to be a great thing as I think it made it easier to focus on the Fair when I first arrived at the exhibition center at Earl’s Court.

I had big news just before I got on the plane last Wednesday (the 15th) – Jim Butcher’s Turn Coat (The Dresden Files, Book 11) is #1 on the New York Times hardcover bestseller list for 4/26/2009!!!! It was so hard to sit still for that whole flight and then when I arrived and had issues with my new laptop, I found it tough to get the news out. I am so thrilled for him, and glad that his series has found so many readers. So I will be celebrating this weekend.

After I get back from the Media in Transition 6 conference at M.I.T.

The aforementioned laptop issues meant that I could not post my usual query wars stats last Friday. That, combined with my travel schedule and the very full days at the Book Fair, also means that I have some catching up to do on several fronts. Hopefully, things should resume as normal from this point forward but I expect it make take a few days to get things back up to speed…

9 responses to “where I’ve been and where I’m going

  1. Glad you’re back safely!
    Shelley
    http://www.shelleyadina.com

  2. We had cake at the Penguin to celebrate!

  3. It’s good to have you back. I miss those stats! 🙂

  4. Whoo-hoo!
    Congratulations to you and to Jim!

  5. That’s fantastic! Congrats to both you and Jim, #1 is HUGE! And, I must add, well deserved, I love the Dresden Files. Fingers crossed that you get the proverbial bugs worked out of your laptop, breaking a new one in is always hard. -HeatherM

  6. YAY!
    Sounds like you had a great time and fantastic news too! I hope your laptop issues aren’t anything serious. Good luck.

  7. Congratulations to you, Jennifer and to Jim! Yay! 🙂
    Take your time gettimg back. My bundled service won’t be available for up to two months, which means I’m using the dreaded “timed” library computer once a week. Blah. That’s what I get for living in the deep country. LOL.
    ~Tyhitia
    http://obfuscationofreality.blogspot.com

  8. MAJOR congrats to both you and Jim, Jennifer — awesome news 🙂

  9. Meeting the Man
    And here it is…Mom Meets Mr Butcher

Leave a Reply

