link salad (client edition)

* The Shadow Unit crew launched Season 2 yesterday. Read the first episode here. For those of you just joining in, Shadow Unit is a collaborative online serial. Season 1’s authors – Elizabeth Bear, Sarah Monette, Amanda Downum, Will Shetterly, and Emma Bull – are joined by Leah Bobet and Holly Black for the new episodes.

* Amanda Downum also shows off the cover art for her debut novel, The Drowning City (The Necromancer Chronicles). (And Kameron Hurley calls it wicked cool.)

* Alison Kent is over at Genreality talking about critique groups. A good critique partner will do more than tell us our manuscript is pretty; s/he will realize what’s missing and point it out.

* Mary Robinette’s latest column at AMC is about teens in fantasy films.

* Donna Ball (with her brand new book, A Year on Ladybug Farm, coming out tomorrow) posted a recipe for Bridget’s Shrimp and Grits, a low country dish a la one of the main characters in the book. The only time I ever had grits — at the Moonlight and Magnolias convention when they dared this Yankee to partake, I admit I wasn’t ensared. That was just with sugar and cream, though. Maybe the bacon and shrimp would make it worth another shot.

* An interview with Anne Bishop on Darwin’s Evolutions. Anne’s new book, The Shadow Queen (Black Jewels, Book 7), hits the shelves tomorrow as well.

* Jay Lake’s window on how friendships and writing mentorships operate in the competitive venue of the pursuit of publication – and how some go bad, while others bring strength and growth.

* Ken Scholes’ is participating in the B&N Book Club bulletin board and answering questions from readers for the month of March in honor of the release of his debut novel, Lamentation (The Psalms of Isaak).

8 responses to “link salad (client edition)

  1. The Shadow Unit crew have entirely too much fun writing those.

  2. This might not be the place to say this, but I don’t want to tie up your inbox.
    Thank you for the note of today regarding the query that I and my writing partner sent off to you last week. This was our first time querying anyone, and our rejection letter. We know that there are going to be more letters turning us down before someone picks us up, and I hope that they’re all as *nice* about it as you were.
    Thanks for your kind words!
    Liz Schechter

  3. FWIW, I wasn’t a fan of ‘sweet’ grits either. Savory grits are much tastier. A lot like polenta.

  4. Grits are definitely a Southern thing. I’m a born Yankee, but I lived in Texas for a number of years and my father’s family is from Arkansas, so I can’t imagine life without grits, gumbo and collard greens. That’s how I know I’m home 🙂

  5. Jennifer,
    Grits with sugar and cream? Eww. I live in South Carolina. Grits only goes well with butter and cheese. Mmmmm. 😀
    ~Tyhitia
    http://obfuscationofreality.blogspot.com/

  6. Grits…
    Grits aren’t really made to be sweet. Definitely best for savory! Once you have had shrimp and grits, you will come to the Dark – er – Southern Side! I have converted many a Californian with my grits.

  7. Grits
    Being a true southerner, I gasped aloud when I read you ate grits with sugar and cream! For me, this is like imagining eating spaghetti with strawberry jam. The two just aren’t supposed to go together. Grits served with butter, salt, cheese, bacon, sausage, shrimp, or any combination of these ingredients are very tasty and once eaten, should succeed in making you a converted grits lover.

Leave a Reply

