happy release day

Today is the official publication date for Ken Scholes’ Lamentation (The Psalms of Isaak).

Scholes’s mesmerizing debut novel, the first installment of the five-volume Psalms of Isaak saga, launches him into the stratosphere of contemporary epic fantasy. Fueled by an impressively serpentine story line that explores deep philosophical issues of knowledge and power, the novel begins with a literal bang: Windwir, “the world’s greatest city” and home of 200,000 people as well as the famed Androfrancine Order and its enormous library, is completely destroyed by a mysterious weapon unleashed by an unknown foe. Left oddly untouched are the Androfrancines’ mechoservitors, one of whom, Isaak, may be the only one who knows what happened and why. Readers will be intrigued by the subtle, adept world building and ensemble cast of brilliantly complex characters, but it’s Scholes’s pure storytelling prowess that makes this tale of devastation and retribution so unforgettable. — Publishers Weekly, starred review

* * *

bonus via Mary Robinette Kowal:

A Weeping Czar Beholds the Fallen Moon by Ken Scholes on Tor.com

Frederico leaned close to smell the poison on his thirteenth wife’s cold, dead lips. It tickled his nose and he resisted the strong desire to kiss her that suddenly overcame him.

That you might lose yourself from sadness by my lips, my husband and Czar, her open, glassy eyes promised him. He looked away, uncomfortable with her empty, inviting stare.

Behind him, the Minister of the Interior cleared his voice and spoke. “The cabinet feels it would be more stabilizing to consider this an assassination. Jazrel was a most popular wife.”

With an audio version available as well, read by Mary Robinette Kowal.

9 responses to “happy release day

  1. What a lovely review.
    Lee.

  2. Definitely a great review. And I have to say, I really like that cover. So evocative.

  3. Yay, Ken! I’m so looking forward to going into the bookstore and buying a copy today. I just sent one off to my nephew via Amazon.

  4. The story was fantastic–beautifully written, and he built the characters and plot in a lovely fashion. I’m definitely adding his novel to my TBR list.

  5. Happy Release Day, indeed!!! Congrats, Ken! Looking forward to reading each and every one…

  6. I’ve been waiting for this day since the night I sat up until 5am reading it in draft form, then begging Ken via email to hurry up and send me more. 😀

  7. Grats!
    Congratulations, Ken! It’s good to see some epic fantasy coming out, and I hope it does well. I was just noticing the other day, perusing Amazon for just this sort of book, and noticed to my dismay that there was nothing epic in the top 50 fantasy books that had been released in the last year. That’s kind of sad. So, here’s to you cracking the top!
    Which has me wondering, just what is the state of epic fantasy in the market these days? Seeing as I have one that I am nearly done editing, this has me worried, aside from the whole downturn in publishing in general. Ms. Jackson, do you have any comments on what the market is like for the beloved epic?
    J Duncan

Leave a Reply

