letters from the query wars

# of queries read this week : 231
# of partials/manuscripts requested : 2
genre of partials/manuscripts requested : YA-fantasy (1), thriller (1)

Twas the Friday before Christmas and throughout the land
Agents were prepping for end of year plans
Manuscripts were piled in the office with care
In hopes that in January they’d still be found there
Long-delayed reading of much-recommended books
Was the plan for the holidays for these hard-working folks…

This is very likely to be the last letter of the year. Our office is officially closing on Christmas Eve, and re-opening on January 5th. Like many agents, I probably will fit in some reading over the holidays (at the moment I’m reading the new Dresden Files novel that comes out in April). Some of that reading may even be a book or two I’ve been saving up.

I hope everyone takes the time for some holiday cheer. Happy Holidays to everyone!

10 responses to “letters from the query wars

  1. query wars
    Did you send notice to the 231 rejections? Just curious, as I emailed a query in early December and haven’t heard from you one way or another. Thanks.

    • Re: query wars
      The 231 represent only a portion of the queries I have received. In fact this is the first time the backlog has been under 100 since, er, July.
      I do reply to every e-query, but response time (as per our website) can take 2-3 weeks (extra time needed around the holidays).
      The oldest query I currently have is dated December 8. If yours is older than that, then I didn’t receive it, or I got a bounce message or your spam filter (or the post office) ate my reply.

  2. I’m jealous. I can’t wait to read the new Dresden book!

  3. Happy Holidays! I hope you get lots of satisfying reading in. ^_^

  4. Happy Holidays
    It’s taken me ages to remember your last name. For years, the family called you Jennifer Agent as opposed to Jennifer Publisher. *G* Did you know you have wings and a halo?
    Julie

  5. Oh, oh, you lucky! I’m impatiently waiting for April. No chance of ARCs to bookstores, huh? (I never get any cool ones anymore. I think I’ve fallen off the publisher map.)

  6. Enjoy your much-deserved holiday, and enjoy Turn Coat! I can’t wait to read what happens next.

  7. Have a great holiday season and thanks for the tips and advice on the blog. Enjoy your reading! 🙂

  8. Cute little poem! Merry Christmas, get some good reading in (preferably by a cozy fire with some hot cocoa). Hopefully the digital slush pile isn’t too horrible when you return. I always hesitate on when is the best time to query after the holidays.
    Happy New Year!

  9. Happy Holidays. Enjoy your books.

Leave a Reply

