Buy a Book, Save the World

For those as missed it from Monday’s link salad: Alison Kent says: Buy a Book, Save the World. A la Moonrat and, more recently, Nathan Bransford. Do your part for the economy – buy a book. Just one.

And…. putting my money where my mouth is…. I bought four books yesterday, two of them as gifts. Not even holiday gifts. Just appreciation ones to special people. The ones I kept for myself: Chelsea Cain’s Heartsick (after reading Cameron’s review of Sweetheart) and Shannon Butcher’s No Escape.

Meanwhile, Martha Wells has a book recommendation thread going that has many, many, many suggestions.

What was the last book you bought? And when did you buy it?

29 responses to “Buy a Book, Save the World

  1. My wife and I went on a book-buying binge at WorldCon in Denver back in August; we came home with over 30 books. I can’t remember which book was the last, but it was probably either The Hallowed Hunt by Lois McMaster Bujold or Crooked Little Vein by Warren Ellis.
    We have so much on our reading pile now that we haven’t bought anything since. But we use books as small rewards for reaching wordcount goals in NaNoWriMo, so soon Sandy will be picking up books 4 & 5 of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series, and I’ll be buying a couple of Walter Hunt’s books.

  2. “Book of Lost Things,” last week; “I am the Messenger,” about a month ago; waiting for Maggie Stiefvater’s “Lament” to come in. I definitely plan on buying books as gifts this year, too.

  3. Oh, I’m real good for the economy lately. Hmmmm…what have I bought…Red by Jordan Summers, because I loved the ARC I got and wanted the pubbed copy, too. Winter’s Daughter by JC Wilder because we were at a signing together and it sounded interesting. Same for the book I bought by Beth Williamson, The Bounty. Also picked up Magic to the Bone by Devon Monk and I’m forgetting a number of others.
    Man, am I good for the economy or what? Although I’m lousy on my own budget….

  4. I bought a whole bunch of books at the school book fair, for my kid, last week.
    And the local library had a “okay, we’re almost done; all you can carry away for a dollar.” I don’t think that counts, though.

  5. Over the weekend I picked up Marjorie Liu’s THE IRON HUNT, Marcus Zusak’s THE BOOK THIEF, and THE MENTAL FLOSS HISTORY OF THE WORLD.

  6. Um. I bought ‘s HALTING STATE, two John Scalzi books, ‘s CAST IN FURY, Robin McKinley’s DRAGONHAVEN and David *mumblety*’s INFOQUAKE while I was in South Carolina. And I read HALTING STATE that night, and have since read CAST IN FURY.
    If I get to the rest of them this calendar year I’ll be impressed.

  7. Last week I purchased two copies of the latest Get Fuzzy Treasury (one for me, one for my mom’s Christmas) and an I Spy Hockey book for my 3-year-old for Christmas. Those are the new books I bought; I also bought four used books Monday night at Bookmans in north Phoenix.

  8. Janet McNaughton’s THE RAINTREE REBELLION and Laurie Halse Anderson’s PROM, both on Monday. I was definitely inspired by Alison’s post.
    Normally I’m a library fiend (if I bought every book I read, my house would be *awfully* crowded), but I’m definitely going to make an effort to purchase more new books in future, even if I wind up giving most of them away when I’m done reading them. Given that I tend to read a lot of YA, I’m sure there’s a teen drop-in center who’d appreciate the donation!

  9. Early this month, I bought Patricia Brigg’s Cry Wolf for Kelley Armstrong’s online Book club at the Otherworld Forums. I wanted to read the book, so it gave me a good excuse to buy it. Dec/Jan’s selection is Phenomenal Girl 5 by AJ Menden so that will be bought soon.
    Before that, the last few books I read were books about writing. It’s going to take me weeks to work through Writing the Breakout Novel Workbook. I’m not allowed to buy any more books about writing until I do.

  10. Yesterday I bought Sam Henderson’s Heaven’s Bones and SC Butler’s Reiffen’s Choice. Looking about now for other books by people named Sam….

  11. “Grave Peril” by Jim Butcher. On Saturday!

  12. I bought BLOOD COLONY by Tananarive Due a few months ago. She’s brilliant. I hope to write half as good as she does. 🙂
    ~Tyhitia
    http://obfuscationofreality.blogspot.com/

  13. Hmmmm…it was a middle grade book for my nephew but I can’t for the life of me remember which one it was. Bought it at a Books-A-Million in Georgia.
    Before that, bought a copy of THE LAST DRAGON at St. Mark’s Place Books in NYC.

  14. A month or so ago I found a Borders gift card I’d gotten for Xmas last year and totally forgotten about … so I used it to buy a thwack of ‘s books that I didn’t yet have. Then I realized I only needed a couple more to round out my Elizabeth Bear collection, so I went over to Amazon and invoked my Amazon Prime to get the others. 🙂
    I still need to get All The Windwracked Stars, though — that’s come out since my last shopping spree. At the rate I get to read books, all this is going to keep me busy until at least 2011. :}

  15. I’ve been trying to get rid of books, dammit! I think the last book I bought was a NYT crossword compilation.
    I’m about to buy a birthday present for someone off Amazon. (DON’T READ THIS COMMENT, LUCAS.) I just haven’t decided which, yet.

  16. I took my quest to Borders and bought Red by Jordan Summers, The Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks, and Feast of Souls by C.S. Friedman. I almost succumbed to Swallowing Darkness by LKH in hardcover but I resisted and got 3 books for the price of 1.

  17. Let’s see…. it’s Wednesday, so… um… Sunday, I guess? Snagged “Backup” and “Welcome to the Jungle” by the wonderful Mr. Butcher. 😀

  18. I’m single-handedly keeping the economy afloat. Seriously, it’s a mania with me. There’s hardly a week goes by that I don’t buy books. I will give up my book buying when they pry the credit cards from my cold, dead fingers. 🙂
    Last books purchased in brick and mortar store: Salvation in Death by JD Robb for me and Deady Harvest by Heather Graham for me dear ol’ mum. Then on Sunday I bought four online: Dark Moon by Lori Handeland, Renfield by Barbara Hambly, Magdalen Rising by Elizabeth Cunningham, Suite 606 by Robb and others.

  19. books
    I just bought R.M. Meluch’s latest release in hardback. Had to order it online. I went to two different bookstores who had decided not to order it for their shelves.
    Lisa Iriarte

  20. Oates
    I bought THE GRAVEDIGGER’S DAUGHTER by Joyce Carol Oates. I bought it because I had heard what a great writer Oates is and so I thought I’d broaden my horizons and perhaps learn a few things.
    I was wrong. I hate it.
    She violates three “rules” that I’ve read from agents, editors, etc, that are completely off limits in publishable writing. 1. She does a huge info dump in the first chapter of the book. 2. She uses tons! of! exclamation points! 3. She tells, a lot, rather than showing. And I don’t like the main character, I think she’s a boob, and I could care less about her. I told this to my librarian friend who instructed me to abandon it and run out and buy WE WERE THE MULVANEYS, she said it is a much better book by Oates.
    To the library it is!

  21. Well, I bought the three Dexter books by Jeff Lindsay, and also ‘the Golden Compass’ (en Français). I didn’t buy any books for holdiay gifts, though I did buy three people gift certificates to Chapters/Indigo. Add all these together and it came to $108.50 CDN. Now I’m thinking about getting a holiday job at my local Chapters. I think I’ll spend the money faster than I earn it.
    Brandi

  22. The last book I bought NEW was The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman the week it came out.
    The last book I bought period was Your Scandalous Ways by Loretta Chase used for 4 cents on amazon. Middle of last month.

  23. Donald recommends
    Took Donald’s workshop over the weekend and one book he cited as an example of a good opener was from a Robin Hobb fantasy – the Farseer trilogy. On Tuesday, I bought all three (paperbacks) in the series at my local BAM. I don’t read fantasy but am looking forward to expanding my horizons.

  24. I bought Steampunk, a (you guessed it) steampunk anthology. About two weeks ago.
    I’m loving the buy a book movement.

  25. November 1. We had a NaNoWriMo write-in at Barnes & Noble. Afterward, I bought the first two Marla Mason books by T. A. Pratt (They didn’t have the third.), Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs, and Rob Thurman’s latest. I’m planning to get The Last Theorem for my husband for Christmas, and other books for all and sundry. Books . . . the gift I always give.

  26. I buy a lot of books, but not recently. I think the most recent book was Wolfbane and Mistletoe, roughly a month ago.
    No wait. I bought a couple of e-books last week. I need to transfer money to my paypal account. heh.

  27. I bought 4 as Christmas gifts and 1 for myself in December. Three were from Jim Hines’ Goblin Series and the other was a book of maps of America.
    Before that…probably 2 in September, “What Happened” by one of the White House staffers about the Bush Administration and “The Expected One” as a gift.

Leave a Reply

