helping a few kids read some quality SF

(via matociquala)

A teacher at a school in LA wants to raise enough money to have his class read Octavia Butler’s PARABLE OF THE SOWER. They only need $122 more to buy enough copies and have them shipped. You can donate at:
http://www.donorschoose.org/donors/proposal.html?id=194410

ETA: Now they only need $47!

7 responses to “helping a few kids read some quality SF

  1. What a cool thing!

  2. And now they’ve met their goal! Yay!

  3. They’re fully funded, but if folks are still feeling generous, a teacher in Harlem is looking to purchase The Parable of the Sower for his students– request details here http://www.donorschoose.org/donors/proposal.html?id=146016

    • You know what? Screw it. I’m a student living abroad in India, and I don’t really have the money to give, but I just donated $50 to this guy anyway.
      Good luck & prayers for him and his class. I hope this book touches the students the way it touched me.

  4. Parable of the Sower & Parable of the Talents are my two favorite books of all time. I am so in love with everything about Butler – she died my freshman year of college. I cried and had to explain to my roommate why I was so devastated.
    I can’t afford to donate, unfortunately, but I am sending all the luck in the world their way. Octavia’s stories are ones that deserve, that need, to be told. She is so inspiring.

  5. What a brilliant website… my “I nao haz idea” is complete… thank you.

  6. I LOVE Octavia Butler. I hope that they reached their goal. Awesome. 🙂 Ms. Butler’s works should definitely be taught.
    ~Tyhitia
    http://obfuscationofreality.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

