summer reading

There have been articles and lists going around for summer reading suggestions. Personally, I’m planning on reading The Historian (I got it in hardcover originally and now the paperback is out — this happens far too often in my tbr pile) and Anathem (I got my hands on an ARC) during vacation time.

What’s on your list this summer?

47 responses to “summer reading

  1. The Kite Runner at last!

  2. David Mitchell, Cloud Atlas, at long last.

  3. Thanks to several different inspirations (a trip to Philadelphia, the John Adams HBO series, the new dollar coins), I’ve decided to read a biography of every American president. I’m currently reading about John Quincy Adams. Don’t know what I’m going to do when I get to William Henry Harrison, though — outside of university libraries, which are inconvenient, I can’t find anything but children’s books in any library or from any bookstore or online vendor.

  4. I’ll be interested in seeing whether you enjoy The Historian. Everyone I know either loved it or hated it (I fell in the latter camp).

    • That’s what I heard too.

      • I read about half of it, and I didn’t hate it. I just thought it was damnably boring.

        • Oh, dear. Maybe I’d better bring a back-up book.

          • Well, just because it wasn’t for me doesn’t mean it won’t be for you πŸ™‚ Lots of people really loved it, and that’s great. I just had a hard time plugging into it.

          • I found it slow, also. It seemed to me it was more atmosphere than plot, sort of like a Victorian novel– half travelogue, and half morality play. But she does a good job with atmosphere. I would bring a backup in case you either want to bail entirely or just read it in small doses.

      • I found The Historian interesting, but certainly not in a fast-plot kind of way. I was kinda lucky though cause i bought it from a little bookstore in an island and found a date with some scribblings on the title page, and considering the book, it made the experience a lot more fun.
        georgiam

    • In the “hated it” camp–glad to see I’m not alone.

      • I just couldn’t see what all the fuss was about. Not a million-dollar book by any stretch, imo, but that may go a long way toward explaining why I will never be an acquiring editor.

    • It’s definately an uneven book. The beginning and premise is fantastic, and even the frame style to tell the different parts of th story are sharp. It just couldn’t seem to keep up the momentum and then pay off like I had hoped….
      This could be an issue of expectations and/or the author coming up with a great concept without knowing how to resolve it.
      Bring a back up book, but definately read the whole thing. I’m in the middle camp (neither loving nor loathing it), but then all I heard was praise before reaching the so I expected more. With your expectations now held in check, you may enjoy it more.

  5. Ha! I have had The Historian for [too long – too embarrassing] too. I need to read it soon. Snap.
    Also on the list? Well, all the other books I’ve had too long: Karen Traviss’ series (bar the ones I’ve read?), Kage Baker’s short story collections… God, too much. Far too much. Thank God I’ve got three weeks holiday in New York to sit in the park.

  6. Pretty much exactly what you’d expect: Ink and Steel, Jheegela (or however you spell it), and Hell and Earth. Get around to finishing David Balfour if I have any time left.
    Oh yeah, I read Halting State over the 4th, and it rocked. Before that, a long stream of C# books. (Ugh, but necessary for work.)

  7. I’m 2/3 of the way through The Historian right now, and I’ve also got an ARC of Anathem, so I want to read that too. Other than those two books, I have The Lace Reader and The Iron Hunt to read, a million other books I got from BEA and ALA, and I’m not ashamed to admit I’ll be cracking into Breaking Dawn next month to see what happens with the sparkly vampires. And I’ve been itching to reread some H.G. Wells and C.S. Lewis classics too.

  8. Finishing up Chaz Brenchley’s Bridge of Dreams, a few things by John Scalzi and Charles Stross, Jim Butcher’s White Knight, Rachel Caine’s latest Weather Wardens novel, and Julie Czerneda’s next once it comes out in September. And, if I decide I can’t bear to wait for them to come out in paperback, Naomi Novik’s Victory of Eagles and Elizabeth Peters’ forthcoming new Vicky Bliss novel.

  9. *raises hand* Also with the Historian in the tbr pile.
    I am ecstatic because Patrick Nielsen Hayden at Tor kindly sent me a proof of Jo Walton’s Half a Crown – the final book in her alternate history trilogy. So I’m going to do a run through the series – reread Farthing, read Ha’Penny as soon as it comes out in paperback next month, and read the ARC of the final book. Then I’ll review the trilogy on my blog in October (when HAC comes out).
    Until then, it’s The Brothers Karamazov. I’m about 40% through and am amazed that I’m not more bored. I like Dostoevsky, but thought this was a lot more pontificating and less plot than it is. Maybe I have a surprise awaiting me….
    – Tracey S. Rosenberg
    http://tsrosenberg.wordpress.com

  10. I’ll be reading the rest of the Kathy Reichs mysteries (I’m currently on Break No Bones), the second novel by Steve Hockensmith, On the Wrong Track (it’s the second in his ‘Holmes on the Range’ series – excellent mysteries about two cowboys who read the Holmes serials in magazines and apply his methods to crime-solving.), and Colin Cotterill’s new book (Curse of the Pogo Stick – starring an elderly Laotian coroner who is the reincarnation of a shaman and sees ghosts).
    I’m waiting (im)patiently for the new A. Lee Martinez book (Too Many Curses), the new Cherie Priest novel (Those Who Went Remain There Still), and the new Charlie Huston hardboiled vampire detective novel (Every Last Drop), all of which will be released in September.

  11. I decided to do something very different this summer, mainly because the last three novels I read from large publishers were very disappointing. I’m only reading novels that are self-published, and I’m hunting them down on my own based on author web sites and back cover copy. I’ve read five so far. One wasn’t very good, but the other four are surprisingly well written.

  12. I just got Nora’s new hardback, can’t wait to dive in! I’m reading Lifelines by CJ Lyons, which is great, and I also have Larissa Ione’s Pleasure Unbound and Anna Lucia’s debut to look forward to.
    Mary

  13. I’m jealous about Anathem … I planned on revisiting the Baroque Cycle or A Deepness in the Sky when I go on vacation next month. Almost two weeks at sea should be more than enough time.

  14. I think I’ve forgotten *how* to read…

  15. I’ll be very interested to hear your take on The Historian.
    I need to finish Heart-Shaped Box. I got about halfway through, then set it aside. But I’m in the throes of bookbrain and when so afflicted tend to fall back on old favorites, like the middle Discworld books.

    • Heart-Shaped Box is on my to-buy list.

      • I didn’t set it aside due to lack of interest. Bookbrain isn’t the same thing as ‘this book isn’t doing it for me.’
        HSB is grim, and I don’t find the two main characters particularly sympathetic, but if they were nice, they wouldn’t have gotten into that mess to begin with. And it’s a fine mess.

        • Good book to read on a cruise? It’s in my TBR pile and along with the books I noted above I want something I’ll have time to go deep.

          • HSB on a cruise–definite contrast in atmosphere there.
            I’m about halfway through, but I would say that it is a very straightforward story. No meandering. Horror and tension. I would take it–the occasional doses of cruise mood/bright lights/people would provide relief from the grim.

            • Sounds like a good idea. And it’s not so thick I’d experience problems carrying it around. I can mark “find book to read” off my To Do list. πŸ™‚

  16. Plan to finish my new novel by the end of July, so August is reading month.
    Escapement by Jay Lake
    Reading the Wind by Brenda Cooper
    Little Brother by Cory Doctorow
    Poltergeist by Kat Richardson
    Night Life by Caitlin Kittredge
    And anything else that strikes my fancy between now and then.
    Have to schedule fun reading these days.

  17. I’m currently in the middle of Heart-Shaped Box, and I’m liking it okay, although I second both the grim and the unsympathetic. On deck is Chandler’s The Lady in the Lake, Bone in the Throat by Anthony Bourdain, or The Stress of Her Regard by Tim Powers, depending on where I’m leaning after the Joe Hill. Not that any of them were set aside for summer reading; they’re just nearing the top of the pile…
    -cfh
    (Man, I really need to figure out how to convince OpenID to realize I’ve got a Blogger account…)

  18. Right now I’m reading The Montefeltro Conspiracy, a non-fiction account that supposed links the Duke of Urbino more srongly to the Pazzi Conspiracy in 1478 (assassination attempt on Lorenzo De Medici). Interesting read so far. Adds another dimension to a part of history I’ve been studying.
    I’m having trouble reading fiction these days, since I’m in edit mode for my own book. I can’t seem to turn off the critical side.

  19. Just be sure to read with all the lights on…

  20. summer reading
    The Kite Runner was a great book. I also read Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides. He’s a good storyteller. I recommend Joe Meno as well. The Boy Detective Fails and Hairstyles of the Damned are two good examples for Meno.

  21. Doomsday Book and Village Affairs are the ones left on the list for right now.

  22. The Del Rey Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy, Blood and Iron, Accelerando. I am sure I will read assorted other things, too, but these are at the top of the queue for now.

  23. I’m afraid with starting a degree in English next month my summer reading may be shifted to Mather, Hawthorne, Bradley, Dickinson et al. The collected works of Messieurs J.Lake, J.Butcher and Madame eBear will have to wait. 😦

  24. The Historian
    The Historian is a great book. I read it on a flight back from London about a year ago. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! It was well worth the time.
    Sienna

  25. All of the Stephanie Plum novels by Janet Evanovich
    Artichoke’s Heart by Suzanne Supplee
    Rockabye: From Wild to Child by Rebecca Woolf
    That’s it so far :p

  26. I’m partially through Parallel Universes of Self (Frederick Dodson) and I Hated Heaven (Kenny Kemp). I’m finally going to read Grave Imports (Eric Stone), On Chesil Beach (Ian McEwan), Sundays at Tiffany’s (James Patterson), and Vectors (Michael Kube-McDowell). When I’m done with those, I’ll start with my Wish List: The Art of Racing in the Rain (Garth Stein), What the Dead Know (Laura Lippman), and His Lovely Wife (Elizabeth Dewberry).

  27. I really enjoyed The Historian, what I read of it, but for some reason stopped halfway and never felt the need to continue. So maybe it was a pacing issue, combined with my lack of time.
    This summer, hoping to read:
    The Three Musketeers by Dumas
    Re-read of Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin
    Whatever romance books catch my eye

  28. I need to start Kavalier and Clay, which I can’t bring myself to pick up because it’s such a brick of a novel, even though I really enjoyed the first chapter that I read on Amazon. Maybe on vacation!

  29. I’ll be reading a few on my list: DON’T EVER TELL by Brandon Massey; BLOOD COLONY by Tananarive Due; DUMA KEY by Stephen King; MONSTER by Frank Peretti; AMERICAN GODS by Neil Gaiman (yeah, I’m late on that one!)THE KITE RUNNER by Khaled Hosseini (late on that one too…lol). HELL HOUSE by Richard Matheson. I just finished THE LOVELY BONES and loved it. πŸ™‚
    ~Tyhitia
    http://obfuscationofreality.blogspot.com/

  30. summer reading
    Kite Runner – deeply flawed story telling, I stopped reading it halfway through.
    The Story of Edgar Sawtelle – stopped reading it on page 35 – mawkish and disjointed – do not believe the hype.
    Lace Reader – boring – could not get past the first couple of pages.
    Lovely Bones – read it all the way through just to see what all the fuss was about – but the ending did not satisfy – story falls apart/peters out toward the end.
    After the recent Colombian hostage release, I blew the dust off a nonfiction title in my TBR pile: NEWS OF A KIDNAPPING by Garcia Marquez. Had it in my TBR pile for 10+ years. Excellent. Of course “Gabo” is the master.
    Also reading NOWHERE ELSE ON EARTH by Josephine Humphreys

  31. summer reading
    Loved The Historian. Just read THE THIRTEENTH TALE, great!

Leave a Reply

