link salad (client edition) plus bonus Pratchett link

* No, Terry Pratchett is not one of my clients. (I wish.) But several of my clients have linked to the Match It for Pratchett and jaylake is getting together with the good people of the Northwest Science Fiction Society to run a matching campaign at Norwescon this coming weekend. Even if you can only spare a couple of dollars, give up that morning latte and donate. I’m going to make a donation myself as he has brought me much reading enjoyment over the years. Also — to the person reading this blog that makes the highest donation by midnight on Saturday, the 22nd (and sends me some verification thereof), I will read and review your synopsis plus 50 (or so) pages of a work-in-progress (limited to novel-length fiction in the adult/YA genre categories I actually represent). You can go directly to https://www.typepad.com/t/app/public/tj?__mode=tip_confirm&id=1606042&user_id=26873 (the tipjar on the Match It site) and make a donation. You can send verification to jjackson [at] maassagency.com

And, now our more regularly scheduled link salad:

* jaylake talks about envy and jealousy in the writing world through the lense of the success of his friend kenscholes. As agent to both these talented writers (and 32nd daughter of Vlad Li Tam), it was interesting for me to read this. I applaud them both. I have seen too many writers fall prey to these issues and it saddens me as both an agent and a reader because it often also has an effect on their writing as well as their attitude.

* jaylake also supplies free fiction – this time it’s “Over the Walls of Eden.” At 3,000 words, this originally appeared in Descant issue 122. If you like the story, please consider supporting Descant.

* Jena Snyder’s Delish Crustless Quiche. This weekend my own menu included Roast Cornish Hen with Sage Butter (though I had it with grandma’s stuffing recipe instead of rice this time) and Jasmine Tea Risotto w/ Sweet Peas and Shrimp.

* suricattus reports on the Dylan Thomas prize. “A £60,000 prize for “the best young writer in the world,” at least the one who’s writing in English. And it included a quote from one of the prize board members indicating that “we haven’t gotten as many entries from America as we’d like.” And apparently that’s still the case.” Originally via GalleyCat.

* Alison Kent reports on book publishing going paperless. “The Hachette Book Group recently distributed hundreds of Sony Readers to its editors and publishers.” (via New York Magazine’s Intelligencer column). I know that at least one editor of my acquaintance at Grand Central (the main division of Hachette in the US) is now taking submissions exclusively in electronic format. And an editor at another publisher is now loading everything on to Kindle. I don’t have a Kindle or a Sony eReader myself (they are still a little pricey for my taste), but it sure would make manuscripts a lot easier to take on the plane or train, I must admit. I just wonder how easy on the eyes it is to actually read 400pp on one of those things because even on my laptop I tend to need frequent breaks.

* The aforementioned kenscholes talks about the agonies and pleasures of writing multiple books in a series…. before the first one is even published.

10 responses to “link salad (client edition) plus bonus Pratchett link

  1. tried to post on the food blog, but couldn’t. anyway, I’m going to try the Cornish hen recipe this coming weekend, as I have a hen languishing in my freezer. Guess I should move it to the fridge on Friday to give it plenty of time to defrost.

    • What kind of error did it give you? If it’s not letting people post, I want to be sure to fix it.

      • It was an “Internal Server Error”:
        The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.
        Please contact the server administrator to inform of the time the error occurred and of anything you might have done that may have caused the error.
        More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

  2. As far as reading on a ebook reader, I find it much easier to read on my 8 year old Rockets than on a computer screen.

  3. Hi, Jennifer. I am much enjoying your blog. Since both Jay and Ken are good friends of mine, it’s interesting to see your perspective on how things are going for (with, to — choose your preposition) them.

  4. I’ve started reading quite a few e-books over the last few months and have found that I start skipping (as in attention wandering, less enjoyment) even in books I really want to read and enjoy if I read too much on screen and that I then have to go back to reading on paper for a while. I would hate to think that this might be true as well for those who make decisions on what manuscripts to accept. On the other hand, taking several dozens of books with me on a trip is so much easier in electronic form!

  5. ARRRRGH. As things stand, I am guaranteed no paychecks after April, and I don’t drink lattes. Unless the max donation is about ten bucks and change (which I’ll probably throw in the jar), I can’t compete. But that’s a really generous offer you’re making.
    Well, I’d better work on making the ms perfect so you’ll want to read it anyway.

  6. Normally I’m not one to pimp a product, but I’ve been using the Sony Reader now for almost two months, and it’s made a huge impact on my work. Aside from all the trees I’m no longer killing, it allows me to carry multiple manuscripts when I travel without breaking my back. It’s saving both my clients and potential clients money, because they can email me manuscripts rather than posting them.
    I’ve read for several hours at a time on it, with no eye strain; it helps that it’s not backlit, and also with most files you can increase the type size with the push of a button (haven’t figured out how to do that with pdf files yet).
    I gave it a try after hearing editors at Little, Brown raving about it, and I’m really glad I did.

  7. Just wanted to say that I love, love, love your Match It For Pratchett idea. May you get many people, competing for your attention!

Leave a Reply

