link salad (client edition) for week of Feb 18 to present

* Elizabeth Bear’s “Shoggoths in Bloom” is partially available online at the Asimov’s website.

* Kameron Hurley offers online inspirational God’s War posters. (I really want one of the Bakkie ones on my wall.)

* Laura Anne Gilman reports that she will be writing a novella for Nocturne Bites, the new eBook program paired with the line of the same name. More news on the Cosa Nostradamus blog.

* C.E. Murphy is taking a poll regarding entering her photography in an art exhibition to take place in April in Cork Ireland. Go vote! She also reports, among other things, that she will be an instructor at the South Carolina Writers Workshop. By strange coincidence, I will also be there.

* Ken Scholes’ “Edward Bear and the Very Long Walk” is available in online audio form.

* Ekaterina Sedia talks about romance in fantasy and that fact that love/sex/relationships seem to have become almost a requirement of the genre. To counter her argument, I immediately thought of Patricia Bray’s Sword of Change series (made somewhat ironic by the fact that she was a recovering Regency romance author at the time she submitted it.)

* Cherie Priest expands on why she is trashing 30,000 words of draft and starting over. Ouch. But a courageous decision to make the choice that is right for the book and herself as a writer.

6 responses to “link salad (client edition) for week of Feb 18 to present

  1. I managed to work my way through that link salad to a recipe for dulce de leche cheesecake squares. I can’t decide if you should be commended or condemneded. 🙂

  2. One of the many things I LOVED about Patricia’s series.

  3. Enough love and sex! GET ON WITH THE SWORDS!

  4. Jennifer,
    Aww, I wasn’t even planning to attend the S.C. Writer’s Workshop, but since you’re going to be there, I have to come! It’s my state. :*) I’ll attend even though my querying will be done by then. Who knows? :*)
    ~Tyhitia
    http://obfuscationofreality.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

