now showing on the DMLA website

What We’re Looking for this Month…. in single title romance

http://www.maassagency.com/thismonth.html

Feel free to disseminate the link. Comments welcome (and even encouraged).

10 responses to “now showing on the DMLA website

  1. Single title romance? A romance novel that stands alone and is not part of a packaged line-up or specially promoted series, right?

  2. A time travel romance in which both protagonists travel through the ages—and never meet.
    I want to read this too.
    Zhaneel

  3. Hi. I have a question. It’s a weird one, and it’s very specific to the book I’ve written so it will be impossible to answer, but it’s eating at me and I was thinking that you might be able to at least tell me to shut up so I can move on with my life.
    The book I wrote has three aspects to it:
    1. Chick lit with a European twist
    2. A story of one girl’s adventures that will inspire readers to live their dreams
    3. A “the silvery olive leaves glimmer in the sunlight as I wistfully gaze out over the ruins” kind of book
    However, I don’t want my query letter to seem like, “My book is anything you want it to be, please pick me,” nor do I want to push one of these aspects, have someone ask to submit a portion of it, and then have them be like, “WTF this is nothing like you said.”
    So my question is:
    Based solely on this ridiculously small amount of information I have given you, would you say that my indecisiveness means I should work further on the book in order to make its focus on one of those aspects, or do you think there is a way to say it IS in fact all these things without saying “please pick me”?
    Lamest question ever, I know and I apologize. I just have no one to bounce this off of.

  4. “A stylish romance featuring an elusive free-spirit, a contemporary Holly Golightly.”
    It’s time for something with a little style.
    I just hope you don’t get too many quasi Holly Golightly characters. That would be such a shame.

  5. Question: If I have gotten a no-thanks to a query from one agent at your agency, is it a no from the whole office? My book features a free-spirited woman like the looking for asks, but it’s not solely about her and her romance, though she features heavily into the story. If I can requery, I might do so putting the emphasis on her character. Not to be phony, but to just highlight what might be a match. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

