now returning to regularly scheduled programming (I hope)

Due to technical difficulties (that @#$*# send light on the cable modem blinking and blinking no matter how many times I rebooted and checked connections) I was offline for nearly 24 hours, which included the entirety of yesterday’s business hours. I even succumbed to calling tech support and going through the “helpful” automated service that had me do everything I’d already done just so I could ask a live person if they had any other ideas. Sadly, all they could do was ping my modem and say it wasn’t responding and schedule a service call that wasn’t going to happen until after the weekend. (That’s right – an entire weekend(!!!!) with no internet.) It was so dis-orienting to my plans for the day that I was even attempting dial-up at one point (the line was always busy!).

If there is something online that I should have read, it would be ever so helpful for people to post links in comments.

One of the most interesting things, of course, was working as an agent without the Net. (ha) No email. No client websites. No posting to blogs. No reading everyone else’s blogs instead of doing my paperwork. On the upside, this means I got through an awful lot of my paperwork. This also made me think about how much of my day tends to revolve around being connected to people online and what a different world I’d suddenly be living in if it went away. Peculiar. I’m not one of those types that’s online 24/7 but it would seriously change my work-flow and keeping in touch with friends.

So, while I have the chance I’m waving to all my friends *waves* and then trying to answer the ton of email that was waiting patiently on my server….

10 responses to “now returning to regularly scheduled programming (I hope)

  1. reminds me of my problems with AT&T DSL
    glad to see you’re back

  2. My work computer died about a month ago. I’m still on a loaner checked out from IT.
    And yes, even though I am a paper checking, phone call answering professor, my work life was SERIOUSLY curtailed those 3 days I had no machine, save a one hour stint with the English office general computers. You can hold out for a couple of days, but you get antsy, and by day 3, what you are missing becomes obvious from a productivity point of view as well.
    So, here’s hoping that your technical difficulties and catch up are resolved soon.
    Catherine

  3. I’ve had this happen with my dsl line, too
    It’s brutal! You don’t realize how many times a day you jump online just to check small things – you know, until the option’s gone.
    On the plus side though, my computer was offline for three days and I swear I got so much good writing time in without the distraction, I’ve been tempted to disconnect it myself for small spurts. You’d think telling myself to stay offline would be enough, but not so much.

  4. The other night, I was out with friends when my boyfriend called and said our Internet connection was down. My first thought was a silent “thank you,” because now I could get to all the stuff I have been meaning to get to but instead have been messing around with Firefox add-ons and Google notebook.
    But it was back up by the time I got home, and now I am 6 hours away from a deadline and happily reading LJ and Wonkette like I don’t have an assload of work to do.

  5. Same thing happened to me, too, yesterday. Some kind of Comcast Cable outage all day. I had to e-mail an editor about a mistake in his web address, and it drove me crazy that I couldn’t get to him until today. ALL my contact info is on the computer. But, on the other hand, I put in a full day’s work on Word, and it was actually nice for a change.

    • Jennifer, pardon me for hijacking your blog for a second, but I’d really like to know what that is in Ryan Field’s avatar. I don’t want to say what it looks like; you might not appreciate it. Then again, you might. To me, it’s big and shall we say … amorous-looking. Maybe it’s the angle, and maybe, like a Rorasch ink blot test, it reveals a lot about where my mind dwells. I tried linking over to his journal, but he doesn’t appear to have one. What the $%#* is it?

  6. You asked if there was a specific place online you should have been looking to correct this problem. How would you have managed that?
    In all seriousness, though, I do mean to help you. Ahh the joys of cable modems. When they run, they run awesome. And when they don’t, you can’t get help to save your life.
    The first thing tech support should have done was ask you if it was possible to hook your coax up to a television. They don’t like to do this because they like to maintain the illusion that you can’t have cable television for free if you pay for a cable modem. They even put this fancy do-dad in your outside connector junction to try to limit that, but the technology currently isn’t there.
    Now, if you had been able to get a television image, that would tell you that the problem exists with your modem itself. That is more than likely the case anyway. There are several brands of cable modems, and it’s not a coincidence that the cable company carries several different brands. The one you want, if you can get it, is U.S. Robotics. Those fail less often, though they are sadly not infallable.
    If this happens again (or is happening still) here’s a few things you can try on your own. Reboot the modem — and I’m talking cold boot here. Power it off via battery or A/C adaptor and leave it off for at least a full minute. Sometimes that is enough to fix it. If you do this, you should also power your computer down and not reboot it until the modem is booted up again. This way your system checks will notice modem activity and give you an honest answer whether it is working.
    Next, do a trojan scan on your system. Viruses are getting so sophisticated, but none are so nasty at changing your settings than trojans. This is partially because they want to rearrange things to best harvest information. We’ve seen a few lately that actually mess with your configuration.
    Of course, everything you checked was a good way to go, but keep in mind that those things can go bad. If you have another piece of coax lying around, it never hurts to try swapping it out. You’d be surprised how often that really is the problem. Usually cable intallers provide you with cable they have cut themselves and attached the connector with a small tool that “punches” it together. More often then not, this is a task they were taught in a single lesson when they were hired, and they are unaware that doing it half-assed will lead to later problems.
    I don’t know if that helps, but at least it’s better than getting an automated recording you can barely understand. Man! I hate those. I almost always end up pleading with said emotionless recording to please let me talk to a human.

    • Actually, I was more asking whether there had been anything posted on blogs yesterday that I should go read…. because I knew I wouldn’t have the opportunity to page back since I needed to catch up on email.
      But thanks for the advice. The only problem with the recording was that it had me doing all the same things I’d already done (such as rebooting the modem and checking connections, etc. etc.).

  7. Oh, I see now. It’s his leg, from his knee to his ankle. Thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

