random query things

Query that Traveled Furthest this Week: From Iran; runner up: Egypt

Surprising Sentence: “Literary agents seem to be more polite than Theatrical agents, and respond even if they are not interested. I am not used to that, so please only respond if you are interested.” [quoted without permission but names withheld]

Things I Don’t Represent but got a Query for: Childrens’ Picture Book

Random Idea that Came up During Query Reading that I would be interested in Seeing: A fantasy novel based on the Weimar Republic

Queries That Got Submission Requests:
* romance novel with a gardening hook
* YA fantasy in the tradition of Robin McKinley
* story about a young couple’s marriage as reflected through cooking
* suspense novel similar to A.S. Byatt’s POSSESSION, but with music

8 responses to “random query things

  1. I read several agent blogs, and after a time, some of the tidbits from them get muddled around in my head as to who said which thing, but four requests for a week (if I’m remembering correctly) is above the norm, isn’t it? The YA in the tradition of Robin McKinley sounds quite interesting – not enough RM out there, I say! 🙂

    • I should clarify that those are 3 requests for partials and 1 request for a full manuscript. I’m not sure if it’s really high because there are weeks when I don’t end up requesting any materials at all.

      • Right, so it ends up averaging out. Still, it must feel like a “good day” when you have more than one thing in your req pile, and it must be hard not to get discouraged when you slog through hundreds of queries and don’t find any you’d like to see. As much as I love reading, I admire the fortitude agents and editors must have to do what you do!

  2. A fantasy novel based on the Weimar Republic would be intriguing. I don’t read fantasy as often as I used to, but I’d love to read about that time period with magic. It sounds like a Miyazki anime.
    How many queries would you guess you get during a week?

  3. I like for agents or editors to let me know, even if their answer is no, because then I’m not waiting around, hoping that they might still reply. One publisher’s submission guidelines stated that they’d only reply if they were interested. This struck me as rude, so I didn’t even submit because I was so turned off by their policy since I suspected it might reflect how they’d treat their authors overall. Maybe I overreacted, but I still find myself turned off by this sort of policy. I hope it doesn’t catch on as standard operating practice.

Leave a Reply

