currently on the night stand

A Wind in the Door by Madeline L’Engle (re-reading the trilogy for nostalgic reasons)

Stories of Your Life and Others by Ted Chiang (short story collection I’ve been working on here and there for a while)

Revisiting Narnia edited by Shanna Caughey (essay collection I’ve been working on for a while)

Fingerprints by Colin Beavan (non-fiction, goes with current interest in forensics and crime detection history)

New Amsterdam by Elizabeth Bear (because I’m going to re-read it when I have the time (the what?))

What’s on yours? And why?

39 responses to “currently on the night stand

  1. Hmm. ‘Deliverer’ by CJ Cherryh – because I’ve read the rest and want to know how it ends.
    ‘Undertow’ by Elizabeth Bear – because I enjoyed ‘Carnival’ and because I follow her blog and like to support fellow writers.
    ‘Techniques of the selling writer’ by Dwight Swain – because I am always reading bits of it or referring to it.
    ‘The House of Faegrim’ – by me – because I will damned well get it right.

  2. Stardust and The Golden Compass because movies are never like the books (as the voice in Stardust well proves–there’s no way they translated that neat voice into the movie).
    The Fallen because i only just realized the TV miniseries was based on a book, and see above.
    Night Pleasures by Sherrilyn Kenyon because I’m trying to expand my reading/authors and she came recommended by a few people at Dragon*Con.
    Then there’s my Flip Dictionary which is my ultimate word resource for my writing and the stuff in my nightstand that I’m still trying to get to…

  3. Moscow: A Secret History by E. Sedia (coz it’s cool, and I need to blurb it)
    The Color of Money by Terry Pratchett (for obvious reasons)
    The Book of Joby by Mark Ferrari (because I’m really curious about it)

  4. I just read Neil Gaiman’s Stardust, finally, because I’d seen the movie and liked it very much.
    And I dove into Koji Suzuki’s Ring cycle of novels, because a) The Ring was the creepiest film it has ever been my pleasure to watch, and b) having just visited Japan for Worldcon, I’m having quite a bit of fun checking out Japanese authors. ^_^

    • Can you recommend some other Japanese authors? I should check them out. *jealous that you made it to the Worldcon in Japan*

      • I took Japanese lit in translation in college many years ago, and really enjoyed The Makioka Sisters by Junichiro Tanizaki.
        It’s even still in print, and I went to college, um, some years ago!
        Since it has been a few years, it’s kind of hard for me to describe it accurately, but I would say that it’s leisurely, literary, epic family fiction, and very Japanese.

      • Certainly. I very much enjoyed Taichi Yamada’s book Strangers, and The Togakushi Legend Murders by Yasuo Uchida. Strangers is essentially a rather Twilight-Zone-esque ghost story, and The Togakushi Legend Murders is a murder mystery heavily tied into the folklore of a particular area in Japan.
        And, *grin*, Japan was hands down the most awesome vacation I’ve ever been on. Even aside from Worldcon. ^_^

        • Ditto — Japan was amazing, with or without the Worldcon!

          • I do wish I could have found some of Sakyo Komatsu’s work, though! But at least according to the folks at the Kinokuniya bookstore we went to in Tokyo, not much of his work has been translated into English.
            I figured that if the man was the Worldcon GoH, I should darned well be reading something by him. I have since at least discovered that Japan Sinks has been translated into English, and the recent remake of the movie version was fun. 🙂

      • In my own humble opinion….
        Haruki Murakami is wonderful. Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World is a kind of cyberpunk thriller. I’d recommend any of his works, though I have a hard time putting him in a genre, and don’t care as much for his short stories.
        Kangaroo Notebook might be the oddest book I’ve ever read, though most of Kobo Abe can be charitably described as surreal (less charitably as nonsensical).

  5. If a virtual nightstand counts (I have the book reserved at the library), I am most looking forward to Joe Haldeman’s The Accidental Time Machine. I love the fact that Haldeman still writes mostly stand-alone novels, and I suspect that if anyone can make the time travel concept fresh, he can.

  6. Kathleen Bryan, The Serpent And The Rose (Just Because 😉
    Kevin Phillips, American Theocracy (because the nightly news isn’t depressing enough :P. Plus one of the boys in the band has been exhorting me to read it for a while and it’ll be fun to discuss it with him)
    Since I don’t have time to read, these are going to remain sitting there for a while I fear…

  7. Criminal Investigation by Swanson et al (textbook for class, first exam is Monday)
    The Casebook of Forensic Detection by Colin Evans (short articles perfect for when I only have 5 minutes)
    Criminology: The Core by Larry J.J. Siegel (personal interest–this is the Why? versus the Who? and How?)
    Webmage by Kelly McCullough (because it can’t all be non-fiction)

  8. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch (because so many friends, Bear included, talked about it and the other World Fantasy nominees)
    Hawke by Ted Bell (for light reading; after finishing the Kushner book, which was the first one I tackled, I felt overwhelmed by the depth of the books and something light seemed required until the Lynch book fully captured my attention)

    • I’m so glad I’m not the only one who is having trouble focusing on the Lynch book despite how much I enjoy it when I am reading it!

      • Well … for me it’s more a matter of overload. Kushner’s book was excellent and, at least for me, the antithesis of what you get from Lynch.
        The Privilege of the Sword is akin to an iceberg; you see just a bit of Riverside, enough to whet your appetite. I’m left wanting to know more about the world, wanting to read her other novels and Riverside novels, because I’m only seeing the part that’s above the water. Lies, so far, is like standing at the top of a tower and seeing everything laid out round you. Nothing’s held back. Different approaches, different satisfactions. 🙂

  9. I’ve got Analog SF on the PDA and have been catching up on my back issues lately. It’s been a while since I read a lot of short SF so I wanted to try that.
    Iron Sunrise by Charlie Stross because half my brain’s in SF Mode.
    Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell because the other half isn’t in SF Mode.
    I just finished Mark Frost’s List of Seven and reread “Doc” Smith’s Spacehounds of IPC.

  10. I’ve been dragging around Kathy Reichs’ Break No Bones and James Lee Burke’s Jolie Blon’s Bounce, but haven’t had a day off since July, so reading time has been thin. (I don’t count things like Woodlands Operations Spill Response and Stream Crossings Inspection Manual as my “want to” reads…)
    Lately I’ve been reading cookbooks and trying to figure out what to do with eight million little green cherry tomatoes. Relish, anyone?

  11. I jut finished THE YIDDISH POLICEMAN’S UNION by Michael Chabon (comments here). Still reading WARRENER’S BEASTE by William Trotter and Jerri Smith-Ready’s WICKED GAME (still in manuscript, so don’t go running to Amazon.com just yet).
    There’s a growing pile of research material on my desk, too, for the project that wants to eat my brain, but I’m not letting myself go near it yet.
    I find I’m reading less and less SF/F right now, because even recommended books just aren’t appealing to me — it’s a cycle I go through, when I turn back to litfic and then to suspense or mystery, and eventually come home. But the cycle can’t and shouldn’t be rushed. The brain knows what it needs.
    (I also find that writing two books at once sort of destroys my ability to read finished books for pleasure, except in stolen gulps of a weekend. Publishing: a virus that turns avid readers into people too busy with books to read)

  12. LADY KNIGHT by Tamora Pierce (rereading because I adore this series)
    THE BURNT HOUSE by Faye Kellerman (I’m thrilled that she’s returning to Decker and Lazarus)
    OUT OF THE SHADOWS by Kay Hooper (I enjoy this whole series, even though they’re a little gruesome for my taste in places)
    Waiting on Ally Carter’s newest (fun reads), Jen Barnes’ PLATINUM (also fun), and another writing friend’s (Aimee Ferris) — all of which are coming from Amazon in the next week.

  13. My Mapp & Lucia omnibus. I reread it every few years.

  14. I don’t have a nightstand so much but I do have books waiting in line and in progress.
    The top three are:
    One For Sorrow by Christopher Barzak, because I’ve heard amazing things about this book. FWIW, I opened a random page when I bought it and fell right into the story.
    Bridge of Dreams by Chaz Brenchley, because Bear recommended it to me and she usually knows what I’ll like.
    Brilliance of the Moon by Liam Hearn, book 3 in Tales of the Otori, because I read the first two and loved them. I just found out there is a fourth book in the series.

  15. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr (because it’s been recced all over my Flist and I love YA fantasy)
    Bleak House by Charles Dickens (it’s my personal Everest, which I bought after the brilliant BBC adaptation – I’m about 30 pages in and have been for the last 4 months)
    A promo book promoting thrillers and crime fiction (because they were giving them away at my local Borders and it had a sample from the latest Andy McNabb who I’m trying to work out what all the fuss is about)
    Indemnity Only by Sara Paretsky (sp?) (required reading for my MA)

  16. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver (I’ve heard praises of this book for years, so I’m finally reading it)
    Give’Em What They Want by Blythe Camenson and Marshall Cook (just read through it again, but continually referencing for query info and other prepwork)
    I’m part of an LJ community that promotes reading 50 books a year. I believe the completion of The Poisonwood Bible will put me at 43. I’m going to really have to push it; I know I won’t get much reading done in November because of NaNoWriMo.

  17. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch (started this months ago, and while I love the writing, it doesn’t seem to make me need for finish it)
    Day Watch by Sergei Lukanyenko (love Russian fiction, and Russian sf/f)
    Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson (work related)
    Lord Kelvin’s Machine by James P. Blaylock (also work related)
    Last Call by Tim Powers (recommended [and a gift!] by my boss)
    Whiskey and Water by Elizabeth Bear (for fun because I really enjoyed New Amsterdam and Blood and Iron)
    Assorted body-building magazines (my ongoing obsession after reading)

  18. In and Down by Brett Savory (a few chapters in, and wow, creepy)
    Ventus and Permanence by Karl Schroeder
    Sarah Canary by Karen Joy Fowler
    Blood Engines by T.A. Pratt
    Idlewild by Nick Sagan
    This all presupposes that I have the time and brain to read any of these things once the paper on Yeats is turned in Monday. *g*

  19. My nightstand is scary actually. Let’s see:
    -Two Jonathan Stroud books — I loved the Amulet of Samarkand, but haven’t got around to the others.
    -Three Jim Butcher books — I got into Harry Dresden via the *sigh* cancelled t.v. series, then discovered (as is always true) the books were much better. Alas, my ambitious reading wants far exceed my time.
    -Two Patricia Bray books — I met her on LJ and was curious. Damn she’s awesome. See above excuses.
    -One Jennifer Schwabach novel — I also met her on LJ. Ditto previous excuses
    -Two Tamora Pierce books I intend to read when the rest of the stack is smaller
    -Three Louisa May Alcott books I’ve reread and reread and which I’m currently skimming for a novel I’m working on with 1900’s speak.
    -One A. Conan Doyle book for the same reason as the Alcotts
    -Two Janet Evanovich novels that I’m not touching until the 1900’s speak book is done since it will skew my narrative back to that of Mall Madness (my last manuscript). These are particularly hard to avoid because I’m dying to know how they end, and no, I have no idea why I started two at once.
    -Two Dean Koontz novels that I will probably be in the mood to read at the next full moon **smirk**
    -One research book on Santee Dakota folklore
    And a partridge in a pear tree

  20. Bleak House by Charles Dickens (because I have been meaning to read it for ages and managed to borrow it from a friend)
    My journal (because I write in it often before bed or upon first waking).
    I seem to be reading just the one right now, which is odd, but can be perhaps attributed to the fact that it isn’t mine, so I feel I ought to read and return it quickly (or as quickly as one can with Dickens, anyway). It’s good!

  21. Real Food by Nina Planck (nonfiction about eating organically, because I’m trying to clean up my habits)
    Lisey’s Story by Stephen King (because I’m a sucker for King and for stories about writers)
    Dead Girl’s Dance by Rachel Caine (because I love vampires)
    I think that’s it at the moment.

  22. hi from a newbie lurker….
    ‘Getting the Facts on Savings and Investing’ because I need to learn about that. I think I might have been writing during that part of class.
    ‘Resenting the Hero’ by Moira J Moore Its one of those it sounds interesting and the bookstore doesn’t have the one I want and I need something to read; woah this was pretty good sort of books.
    ‘Creating Web Pages with HTML’ 3rd Edition by Patrick Carey, you always will need some understanding and so I can unnderstand at least a third of what my computer savy friends are talking about.
    ‘A Sense of Direction:Some Observations on the Art of Directing’ by William Ball, refreshers on a degree is always good.
    ‘The Dagger and The Cross, by Judith Tarr, its a favorite from middle school.
    ‘The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Business Etiquette’ umm because I need all the help I can get.
    ‘2005 Writer’s Market’, you have to know what you want you want to be a part of it.
    End of random lurker sharing time.
    -M

  23. I just finished THE ROAD by Cormac McCarthy and I AM LEGEND by Richard Matheson (because Stephen King read him as a child). I am currently reading, HELL’S BELLE’S by Jackie Kessler(because she’s awesome), THE LIVING BLOOD by Tanarive Due(because she is a wonderful writer!), and DARK SYMPHONY by Christine Feehan (who doesn’t love her?). For non-fiction, I will be reading John Robison’s LOOK ME IN THE EYE(because it’s about his life with Asperger’s and the fact that I work with the Mentally Challenged and Autistic populations). And many more to read as well…
    ~Tyhitia
    http://obfuscationofreality.blogspot.com/

  24. Just finished this week:
    The Omnivore’s Dilemna, Michael Pollan
    and
    Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maitanence, Robert M Pirsig
    I’m ready for some fiction right about now… but I tend to try to read the whole book in one sitting when I read fiction, and I can’t spare that kind of time right now.
    Non-fiction and narratives like Pirsig’s book I can put down a bit easier – although the last two nights I’ve been up too late with Zen. sigh.

  25. Herodotus, which is always there just in case I run out of things to read.
    How To Be Idle, my current bed-time read while trying to knock out revisions.
    Name of the Wind, my next book as soon as I’ve finished writing the one I’m working on. (It’s in the nature of a treat).

  26. The Halo Effect by MJ Rose (because it’s the novel I’m currently reading)
    Three anthologies (because I tend to take a break from novels with short stories):
    1. My Big Fat Supernatural Wedding (big fan of Charlaine Harris, Rachel Caine and Jim Butcher but have enjoyed the others)
    2. In the Forest of Forgetting by Theodora Goss
    3. Moonlight and Vines by Charles de Lint
    A book of poetry (because if not short stories, then poetry, or vice versa):
    The Trouble with Poetry by Billy Collins (a major favorite of mine)

Leave a Reply

