random commentary

Two new projects going out to market today. The prep, the pitching, the actual submitting…. always so time consuming to get just right. But it feels so good. They are shiny. And marvelous. And deserve good publishing homes with enthusiastic editors who really “get” them. They are also about as different as night and day, and aren’t even in the same genre, which is one of the reasons I have so much trouble with that “what are you looking for” type of question.

Also read three full manuscripts and started a fourth this week. One of those looks very likely to result in my committing new client-age. The other three were all client manuscripts already. I also received four new manuscripts this week (two client, two non-client). Four steps forward, four steps back on the materials awaiting attention.

Typing out loud: despite the fact that nearly everywhere on the internet that my submission guidelines appear it says that I prefer snail mail to electronic queries (last night I nearly killed myself trying to read an email that had the teensy tiniest font ever and all the carriage returns stripped out), I am now getting them in a ratio of 1:2, respectively. Yep, twice as many electronic submissions as paper ones this week. They don’t appear to be twice as good, so far. Perhaps if they all came in standard format this would be far less painful. Particularly with respect to the ones that are pink.

I’m also on disc 4 of the first season of Criminal Minds. Curse you matociquala.

7 responses to “random commentary

  1. Particularly with respect to the ones that are pink.
    I’ll have to send the revised ENDGAME to you printed in red ink on turquoise paper. In the interest of keeping up with the e-sub side of the Force.

  2. I prolly shouldn;t tell you this, but….
    …second season is better.
    And they improve upon rewatching, like some books improve upon rereading.
    Crack, innit?

  3. e-queries
    I supposed you could set up an auto-reply that said, “Please send me your query by snail. I’m not reading this.” and just forget about e-queries. As a writer, I’m not sure why a writer would want to do them anyway. You never know if they actually go through.
    This might sound like more trouble than it’s worth to you, but sometimes when I have to read something off the internet, I just have a Word document open and I cut and paste it into it and then make it larger…

    • Re: e-queries
      Ur…because it’s convenient. And inexpensive.
      I recently received a request for a full that was the result of an e-query. And honestly, if you’ve ever worked for the United States Post Office, as I have, then you know that snail mail is by no means any more reliable than email. 😉

  4. I don’t know if you answer questions from the comments, but you mentioned the process of prepping, pitching and submitting. On average, once you receive the finalized version of the manuscript from a client, how long does it take to get the manuscript out to editors and what kind of process do you go through?
    Thanks!
    Maprilynne

  5. I fell prey to the Criminal Minds season one box set just last month. Now I’m an addict. I’d say, “Don’t let this happen to you,” but… eh. It’s a great show. Cracker and Wire in the Blood are also great similar British counterparts.
    I was reading your journal out of interest for the writing life side of it, but I had to comment on this since it’s so close to my heart.

  6. Thanks, that was actually exactly the info I was looking for.:)

Leave a Reply

