if at first you don’t succeed

No time for a long post today. I’m having an extremely full and chaotic week….

But I was just talking with a client who mentioned that he had 49 rejections of his manuscript before it sold. And one of those rejections was from our agency. We’re a few books into that series now and having a blast.

And if that’s not enough evidence of how wacky this publishing gig is, try finding the story of how Tom Clancy first got published.

I’m just sayin’.

4 responses to “if at first you don’t succeed

  1. Oh wow. Thank you so much for posting this. Just when I feel like giving up hope on my MS, I come across something like this, and it re-ignites that spark. So thank you. πŸ™‚

  2. Keep trying, keep improving, there’s always hope πŸ™‚

  3. Short but sweet!
    I am almost relishing the idea of submitting mine. I plan to frame my first rejection letter. It might make me cry, it might make me giggle but it sure as hell will remind me that one rejection means nothing.
    And obviously by this post, 49 doesn’t either. πŸ™‚
    So gracias and happy Friday!

  4. A question you can blog on
    In case you’re at a loss for something to write about πŸ™‚
    I hear beginning writers all the time say they’re saving their rejects so that after they get that big book deal they can mail all the agents that rejected them and rub it in their faces. But, does anyone ever actually attempt this?

Leave a Reply

