from the bookshelf (January-June 2006)

Now available or coming soon… I did posts like these in 2004 but managed to miss them in 2005. Oops. In any case, without further ado, here are books from my clients that are coming out during the first half this year. If you want to know what I like, these might help you figure it out. Edited to add: I must admit that we have tried to find one single commonality between all these books (other than the fact that they are well-written), and I haven’t been able to put my finger on it just yet. So – “what am I looking for?” – still doesn’t have a short and sweet quantifiable answer.


Donna Ball: Smoky Mountain Tracks launches the new series featuring search and rescue dogs that assist in solving mysteries in the Georgian Appalachia area. Available in March with at least two more to come.

Shelley Bates: In mid-June, the latest novel of edgy inspirational fiction will be available. This one’s called A Sounding Brass, and continues the stories of the Elect. This is the author I mentioned a few days ago who is a finalist for the RITA for the previous book, A Pocketful of Pearls.

Elizabeth Bear: Blood and Iron, the first book in the Promethean Age series is due out in June. This is a contemporary fantasy about the ages-old war between the realms of Faerie and the human mages of the Promethean Society, told from the point of view of the pawns who will be instrumental in deciding the fate of both worlds. The author’s previous trilogy, a science fiction story arc featuring Jenny Casey, has had all three volumes land on the Locus best-seller list, and she’s a winner of the Campbell Award as well as a finalist for the Compton Crook Award. Her short story collection, The Chains That You Refuse, is also coming out in May from Night Shade Books.

Anne Bishop: The first book in her current dark fantasy duology, Sebastian, was released in February. From the Publishers Weekly starred review: “Sweeping onto the scene with flair and grace, this latest page-turner from bestseller Bishop (Dreams Made Flesh) flutters its eyelashes at you like a shy country maid and then sinks its teeth in like a hungry succubus.”

Donna Boyd: The Passion and The Promise were both released several years ago and much-lauded as books that covered new ground in the paranormal subgenre. They are a history of the wolves that walk among us, and are now being reprinted — available in March. Don’t miss these!

Patricia Bray: Just towards the end of May, the new book, The First Betrayal, first volume in Josan’s story, is due to be released. This begins a story in which a scholar faces and defeats an assassin and is swept into international intrigue and discovers his soul is, perhaps literally, not his own

Jim Butcher: The 8th novel in his popular Dresden Files series is due out in May. Proven Guilty continues Harry’s fight against crime and evil when the daughter of an old friend becomes involved. Also, the seventh book will be released in paperback.

Cate Dermody: This will be the 2nd adventure to feature secret agent Alisha MacAleer as she continues to face the machinations of various secret societies in her attempt to preserve the free world. This one is titled The Firebird Deception. Due out in June, but if you haven’t read the first one, The Cardinal Rule, you can get it right now.

Laura Anne Gilman: Taking a brief break from her Retrievers series (published by Luna with a new novel due out later this year), the author has written a young adult trilogy focusing on the children who live in Camelot. The first book, The Camelot Spell, was out in February. The second is out this summer, and the third in the fall.

Shannon Hollis: This writer of erotic romance for Harlequin’s Blaze line is participating in the White Star miniseries with the title: Full Circle. An amulet, a legend, a race to unearth a decadent treasure. An Indiana Jones hero meets his match. This one comes out in May.

Shirley Karr: In her Kiss from A Rogue, this author spins a tale set in the Regency era of England in which a woman pledged to save her people takes on the role of smuggler and meets her match in a young nobleman determined to become a rake but betrayed by his own heart. Published in February.

Jocelyn Kelley: A Moonlit Knight the third book — available in May — in St. Jude’s Abbey series. In 12th-century England, St. Jude’s Abbey is no ordinary sanctuary of prayer and ritual. It was established by Eleanor of Aquitaine to train young women in the knightly arts, so that in times of trouble these formiddable women can be called upon to protect the royal family and England.

Sharon Lee and Steve Miller: The second book, The Crystal Dragon, in the Great Migration duology, a prequel that reveals much of the source of the Liaden Universe as it is known in the other books of the series, was released in February.

Susan Matthews: Return to the Judiciary universe in the suspenseful novel, Warring States. This is another tale in the ongoing saga (begun in the award-winning Exchange of Hostages) of Andrej Koscuisko. This time the story focuses on Bench Agent Jils Ivers as she investigates the death of the First Secretary.

Rebecca Meluch: In January, the second book in her highly-touted (two starred reviews from Publisher Weekly) series was released: Wolf Star. Also, the first book, The Myriad, is now available in paperback.

Syne Mitchell: Her latest science fiction novel will be released in June. It’s called The Last Mortal Man and is the first in the series about the Deathless, the extremely wealthy quotient of humanity in the twenty-fourth century that can pay for a process that uses nanotechnology to make them immortal.

C.E. Murphy: In May, the 2nd book in her Walker Papers series will be released from Luna. It’s called Thunderbird Falls. And it got a nice review from Publishers Weekly.

Patricia Rosemoor: Slater House — one of the most-published authors in Harlequin’s Intirgue line pens another tale of suspense and romance, available in June.

David Skibbins: High Priestess. From Publishers Weekly: “The great strength of Skibbins’s second mystery, as in his first novel, Eight of Swords (2005), is his unusual narrator, a ’60s radical who’s been hiding from the law under the alias Warren Ritter for 30 years.”

33 responses to “from the bookshelf (January-June 2006)

  1. Yay, E Bear!
    Patricia Bray’s book looks interesting as well!

  2. Mmmm just happened to start Sebastian tonight. I sent one of Anne Bishop’s books to my German friend, and he devoured it–now I must send more.
    Jim Butcher–smile–I met him, finally, last summer at Writer’s Weekend in Seattle. He had one of my favorite workshops, which was mostly a huge pep-talk. He just has the craziest enthusiasm, and everyone left that talk convinced they could walk amongst the stars. (Heck, why not? 🙂 I got my co-worker hooked on Harry, so she’ll be glad another is coming out, soon.
    This is great, really. Thank you for sharing everyone here.
    C

  3. Thanks for posting this! There are at least a couple (most likely more, bookaholic that I am) going on my to-buy list.

  4. The cover of Donna Boyd’s book is absolutely gorgeous.

  5. Oh my Gosh I MUST read David Skibbins.
    *runs to bookstore*

    • I’m so curious — why was this the book in the list that got that reaction?

      • two things – the titles are tarot cards, and they meant something to me. I saw the title High Priestess and wondered if it was a tarot reference, but the eight of swords sealed it for sure, so I immediately wondered if the motif of someone immobilized by a circle of undesireable choices while blind to the escape option was going to be in there…. (/tarotgeek)
        but it’s the protagonist that’s really got me curious. not an ex-lawyer, not an ex-cop, but a rebel, a malcontent, and one who is living like a fugitive and risking the safety of a false identity to solve crimes. that’s hella interesting to me. dead curious to see how it works.
        and after two johnathan kellerman books in a row, the search for a new mystery authour to glomph continues…

        • It’s the protagonist that won me over when I read the manuscript for Eight of Swords as well. I’d be interested to hear what you think of the books once you’ve had a chance to read them. Eight of Swords, by the by, comes out in paperback next week. And uses a different tarot deck as they’ve repackaged the cover.

      • I’m a tarot geek as well, but it was Skibbins’ name that caught me. I don’t know how I got there, but I love his website (www.davidskibbins.com/tarot.html) and the wild and crazy tarot readings. I’ll definitely be looking to snag both his books. Ball’s series sounds really intriguing as well (since I’m a dog geek of the highest order).

  6. I can’t WAIT to get my hands on pbray’s new book! *fidget fidget*

  7. New Susan!!! Wheee!!
    I’ll have to drop this list off to Maria to keep track of for my box. *grins*
    Oh, and so the Skibbins is using a card from my favorite Tarot deck for the cover. Did the first, also? *curious*

    • I don’t know whether the first book was from the same deck or not, but it was also a tarot card cover.

      • I think I will need to investigate these — books sold on the strength of the agent and the covers!
        And I just noticed today (when showing J. the list) that there’s a new Syne! Whee!!!

  8. 2 books from …. I’ve been anticipating them since the end of last year 🙂
    Your other clients’ books look interesting, too. I might try Jocelyn Kelley’s and Jim Butcher’s books.

  9. Wow! You’ve been busy. If you say your client list is full, I can see why.

    • And that’s only the first half of the year — there’s more! I usually say it’s pretty darn close to full. My weak spot apparently is that I can’t turn down a story I fall in love with. I’ll always have room for those. Somehow.

  10. I adored Sebastian. Of course, I’ve adored all Anne Bishop’s books. 🙂

      • Am reading Sebastian now and it is COMPLETELY twisting my expectations. Really. Awesome. I am LOVING this book, loving how neatly and easily this whole new world (to me at least?) is explained–and it makes such sense! And…AHH! *biting nails* AHH! LOL.
        I am very glad I bought the hardback. Yup. Well worth the bucks.
        I am not just saying that.
        C cursing the fact that lunchtime is over

  11. So many enticing books! **off to amazon to add to wish list**

  12. Actually, THUNDERBIRD will be out at the beginning of May. 🙂

  13. I loved CE Murphy’s first book, and I can’t wait to read the second.

  14. Wow, there are some great looking books here, I’m going to have to add to my TBR list.
    I was lucky enough to meet Anne Bishop this past weekend at Ad-Astra in Toronto where she and Julie Czerneda did a writer’s workshop. It was limited to only 10 people, so we were each able to ask questions and talk about our writing.
    Anne is such a nice lady, and I don’t know how such a quiet, calm woman comes up with the stuff she does in her books, but I love it.
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

