Happy New Year

Yesterday was my first day back at my desk after a week and a half of holiday mayhem. *whew* Though our agency was closed from the Friday before Christmas until after the New Year, I read a giant pile of manuscripts and proposals and only a very little bit of Ian R. MacLeod’s The Light Ages (my current leisure reading). During this week (and quite likely part of the next week), I’ll be working on the editorial letters for the client materials I read, and letter responses for the non-client submissions. I haven’t even begun to open any of the mail received over the holidays….

Two years ago in January, I had six sets of contracts arrive all in the same week. Yay for LJ archives that remind you of such horrors. The ones that just arrived on my fax machine bring me up to six sets of contracts currently on my desk. Last time this happened, I lost a lot of sanity. This time I’m not starting with any. Vetting contracts is quite possibly the most difficult part of my job. There is no skimming. There is no way to cut corners or speed it up. Every bit of language must be examined in detail. Keeping up with the reading pales by comparison.

Of course, the start of the New Year isn’t all legalese. I also just closed my first deal of the year!

17 responses to “Happy New Year

  1. Remember, six contracts is a *good* problem. 😀
    Happy New Year.

    • That’s a good point. These six contracts represent the domestic sales of 3 fantasy novels, two science fiction novels, one paranormal romance – and the foreign sales of a fantasy novel (Czech!) and a fantasy collection (German). For four of my marvelous clients. That’s a much better way of looking at it. (Even if it is hours of work!)

      • You rock. *g* Also, as Suri says, busy is good!

        • suri, having spent the past few days being an utter pampered sloth, is rethinking that motto…
          But contracts are very very good. Contracts mean money for authors, and money for agent, and books for readers and continued employment for editors and typesetters and copyeditors, and all those good things. 😀

  2. Yay! for the new deal and good luck with the contracts. At least it’s a problem of success.

  3. Pity about The Light Ages – one of last year’s reads that I really enjoyed. I hope you have time to finish the thing!

  4. I’ve heard similar from other agents and editors– that the collective New Years resolution seems to be “sumbit my query to an agent.”
    What would we do without lj archives!

  5. Congrats on the sale! That’s a lovely way to kick off 2006! Good luck with the contracts. My sympathies go out to you. I came back to just one set, and that seemed quite bad enough to struggle through in my post-holiday coma.

  6. I remember that January two years ago. I was a brand-new Jennclient at the time. 🙂 I’d offer you some sanity, but under the circumstances, I seem to be in somewhat short supply…. 🙂

  7. Happy New Year. As everyone else has said, busy is good.
    I hope to add to the load this year, hopefully without inducing sanity loss.

  8. No rest for the insane!
    But six contracts? Congratulations to you and your authors! There are definitely worse reasons to be insane. 🙂

  9. Congrats on starting the New Year off with a new deal!

  10. Congrats on a profitable start to the new year!

  11. Soylent manuscripts they’re made out of people!
    Welcome back from the holidays. Stay warm out there in ColdPeopleLand.
    -=Jeff=-

Leave a Reply

