page after page

As a sort of follow-up to the speed-reading post (and, yes, I did have an ulterior motive in asking – we’ll see if I get to put that plan into effect sooner rather than later)….

What *are* you reading now?

Me?

Current published book on the nightstand…. Karen Traviss’ City of Pearl. And, of course, various unpublished things in various forms — outlines, partials, fulls….

66 responses to “page after page

  1. Sharon Shinn’s Angel-Seeker, a light read after my unexpectedly heavy last book.

  2. Re-reading Jack Finney’s “Time and Again”. I like his time-travel method.

  3. Reading Urban Shaman by C.E. Murphy and The Native People of Alaska by Steve J Langdon. Just finished The Gun Seller by Hugh Laurie.

  4. E.R. Eddison: The Worm Ouroboros.
    I had no idea it was so… Victorian. People whose tastes I respect speak very fondly of it, so when I saw it on a used book stall yesterday, I pounced. And now I’m semi-hoping that the style will rub off on me a little, since I am currently seriously underwriting description.

    • I’ve meant to read that for *years*…. and I even went so far as to pick up some of his other books back when I wasn’t collecting them faster than I had opportunity to read them. Let’s see… I’ve got:
      A Fish Dinner in Memison
      The Mezentian Gate
      Mistress of Mistresses

  5. Right now, I’m reading Natasha Mostert’s Windwalker. Last night, finished Michelle Hauf’s Once a Thief. Prior to that, read The Orchid Hunter, another Bombshell, and CE Murphy’s Urban Shaman. (That takes me back to Saturday, which I figure is a good enough defintion of “now”.)

    • *jealous* That’s several books in just a week! I’m lucky if I read more than two published books a month these days. I miss that constant immersion (because reading submissions is *just* not the same — even when they’re really good).

  6. Just finished up _Academ’s_Fury_ by Jim Butcher, and finally picked up _Cagebird_ by Karin Lowachee. After that will be something really light that I can finish up quick or else set down to read HP (I know, baaaaa I’m a sheep).

    • Let me know if you ever want any suggestions of new stuff…. We don’t get to go to as many cons together as we used to, so I don’t have as much opportunity to add to your stack. *g*

      • The to-read pile got completely overhauled this past weekend, and I pulled a bunch of stuff off that really shouldn’t have been there anyway. And it’s all organized so I can *find* things.
        If you want to add to my stack this weekend… I just cleared it with the husband and you’re welcome to do so. *big grins* Oh, and Maria has now started doing it and randomly adding suggestions to my box!!

  7. Elizabeth Kostova’s The Historian.

  8. Just finished Scardown and Cory Doctorow’s Someone Comes To Town, Someone Leaves Town. Both superb. Up next will be either Stross’s Accelerando or Syne Mitchell’s End in Fire.
    I’m on a panel about New Voices in SF on Friday, and I’m cramming. *grin* If only cramming had been this fun in school….

    • If only cramming had been this fun in school….
      Amen.

    • Cory Doctorow’s Someone Comes To Town, Someone Leaves Town.
      This one’s very high on the “hunt it down at all costs” list.
      Unfortunately, even though I live in a supposedly Metropolitan area, that is proving somewhat difficult.

  9. I’m reading “Banshee Cries” by C.E. Murphy. In manuscript form. With a red pen in my hand.
    The last thing I read was FIREBIRD DECEPTION by Cate Dermody. In manuscript form. With a red pen in my hand.
    The next thing I read will be THUNDERBIRD FALLS, by C.E. Murphy. In manuscript form. With a red pen in my hand.
    Nobody *told* me that part of growing up to be a writer meant I was going to have less time to *read*!
    I’ve managed to get in a couple of printed books in the last couple weeks. Hugh Laurie’s THE GUN SELLER, and Robin D. Owens’ GUARDIAN OF HONOR. And I may take a day or two to read before working on TBF. (I always say that….)

  10. I just finished THE SECRET MAN by Bob Woodward, all about his relationship with W. Mark Felt, AKA Deep Throat. Fascinating stuff, at least for me.
    I plan to start Harry Potter on Sunday morning.
    (By the way, spotted you at Readercon, but I didn’t, so we must have missed each other…)

    • I was actually only there to pick up some books. And I decided it at the last minute, too. So I didn’t really check to see who else was going to be around.

      • It’s not like we had anything we needed to talk about in person, anyway. I was just surprised when said, “Hey! There’s !” And when I turned around, you were gone…

  11. Octavia Butler’s Kindred. I read and adored her Parable books ages ago and never quite figured out what of hers to read next. But I saw this one at a used bookstore a few weeks ago and I’ve been trying to master used bookstore zen… So far, so good!

  12. Fiction
    Barry Eisler, Rain Storm
    Cory Doctorow, Someone Comes to Town, Someone Leaves Town
    Dan Simmons, Olympos
    Charlie Stross, Accelerando
    Helen Walsh, Brass
    Non-Fiction
    Andrew McCall, The Medieval Underworld
    Freakanomics, Levitt and Dunbar
    I won’t finish all of them, of course; life’s too short.

  13. Since we’re reading partners, I’m reading Karen Traviss’ City of Pearl too. πŸ˜‰

    • Oh yeah, and on the non-fiction side of things, I’m still slowly moving along through Robert O. Paxton’s The Anatomy of Fascism.

  14. Warprize by Elizabeth Vaughan and before that Summer Knight by …

  15. I just finished reading a review copy of Erik Tomblin’s RIVERSIDE BLUES, (due out from Earthling Publications in September 2005). A haunting Southern yarn of love and revenge, definitely worth picking up. (one reviewer described it as a cross between Flannery O’Connor and Joe Lansdale.
    I’m currently reading a review copy of Mike Arnzen’s PLAY DEAD, from Raw Dog Screaming Press. A tougher ride, kind of a tough guy version of Barker’s DAMNATION GAME.
    I recently read a personal copy of Joe Lansdale’s SUNSET AND SAWDUST. That guy, in my book, can do no wrong. An authentic storytelling voice.

  16. Quicksilver by Neal Stephenson.
    yeah, I know I’m about three years behind. I don’t often read brand new books these days.

  17. Just finished a re-read of Consider Phlebas for our neighborhood book group. Damn, that’s fine stuff. Also still (still!) slogging through Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell and finding that, at last, after fifteen thousand pages, the plot is beginning to perk up. It’s a good novel, no question, but it really could have used another hour or so on the boil. Next up for the book group: Curse of Chalion.

    • Also still (still!) slogging through Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell and finding that, at last, after fifteen thousand pages, the plot is beginning to perk up. It’s a good novel, no question, but it really could have used another hour or so on the boil.
      Ok-dokey–that’s currently sitting on my TBR shelf. Looks like it may sit there until we down a few aperitif books in preparation.

    • I received Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell for Christmas, and immediately started it… hoping I would either hate it (quickly dumping it from my “to read” pile), or race through it. Unfortunately, although I really enjoyed it, it was too long to race through.

  18. I’m reading The Elegant Universe by Brian Greene–a little light reading. πŸ™‚ This one is research for an upcoming project. The novels in my to be read pile are calling. I’ll have to start something new soon.

  19. Current Books:
    Catie’s Urban Shaman
    George R. R. Martin’s A Clash of Kings
    I’m enjoying both very much. πŸ˜€

  20. Currently reading: Captain Alatriste by Arturo Perez-Reverte

  21. A Fortress of Grey Ice, by JV Jones.
    Almost done with that, though, and next up will be Pilgrimage, by Zenna Henderson. (And that will free up room in my queue of seven to slot in Scardown).

  22. What a coincidence you should ask. Hammered πŸ™‚
    From the blurb, I didn’t think it was my style… however, I gave it to my husband, who loved it. Then I started reading before came to Toronto and was hooked on the characters. I’m racing through it and looking forward to Scardown.

  23. Ed McBain’s Fat Ollie’s Book (in memoriam)
    Gerald Howson’s Arms for Spain
    Herbert Werner’s Iron Coffins

  24. Deep Magic: The Second Collection… an anthology of stories published by Amberlin, the publishing company of the ezine Deep Magic.
    Just finished The Misted Cliffs by Catherine Asaro, and eagerly awaiting my Curse the Dark by Laura Ann Gilman and Harry Potter to arrive.

  25. I’m currently reading BITTEN by Kelley Armstrong, and before that, I read Linda Howard’s OPEN SEASON. Next in line is a certain book that gets released this Saturday, and then probably HAMMERED by Elizabeth Bear.
    I’ve been making a point to read a book about every 7-10 days lately. It’s amazing how muched it’s helped me in dealing with real life and with the writing endeavor.
    More than you needed to know, right?

  26. what I’m reading now
    Simon & Shuster’s Handbook for Writers…also an as-yet-unpubbed manuscript by Liz Wolfe. Also, Warprize by Elizabeth Vaughan.
    I meant to read Urban Shaman, but they sold out at WW and Murphy isn’t around to sign one, sooo…I’m gonna wait. She’s bound to be back, right?

  27. In the middle of:
    Tom Meigs, Ultimate Game Design: Building Game Worlds
    Boone and Kurtz, Contemporary Business
    Lynn Renau, Racing Around Kentucky
    James Rice, History of the British Turf, vol. I (1883 edition… I’d forgotten how good old books smell)
    William Mayne, A Game of Dark
    James Morrow, This Is the Way the World Ends
    Josephine Young Case, At Midnight on the Thirty-First of March
    Norman G. Finkelstein, The Holocaust Industry
    Tom Hambleton, Pace Makes the Race
    Robin Hobb, Golden Fool
    Dennis Cooper, Closer
    Nancy Pearl, Booklust
    Jeffrey Thomas, Letters from Hades
    Diann Hunt, Hearts Under Construction (research only… honest)
    Lemony Snicket, The Grim Grotto
    Paul Ruditis, Rainbow Party (research only… erm, wait, that doesn’t sound right, does it?)
    just finished:
    Ted McLelland, Horseplayers: Life at the Track
    Charles Simic, My Noiseless Entourage
    Charles Bukowski, In the Shadow of the Rose
    Allen J. Ottens, Coping with Satanism
    Edward D. Wood Jr., Killer in Drag
    upcoming:
    Elizabeth Kostova, The Historian
    Sam Harris, The End of Faith
    Georg Trakl, Poems and Prose
    Jack Priest, Witch
    Richard Laymon, In the Dark
    …and a couple of others currently escaping me.

  28. Just finished up Holly Lisle’s Last Girl Dancing and Wen Spencer’s A Brother’s Price, and am now 150 pages into Jim Butcher’s Furies of Calderon. Next on the TBR pile is Elizabeth Bear’s Scardown.

  29. I’m currently reading all these posts!!! oh, and “Wizard’s First Rule.”

  30. Assuming you only me fiction . . .
    Tales of the Flat Earth by Tanith Lee and The Coming of Conan the Cimmerian. Both have short stories or in the case of the former, it’s something like that. That works well since I’m working on the final edit of my third novel.
    After that, I’m aiming for TITHE by Holly Black.

  31. I just finished _Gone For Good_ by Harlan Coben. Man can he write!

  32. For pleasure: Jack Kirley’s THE HUNDREDTH MAN.
    For work: IN PLAIN VIEW: OREST SEMCHISHEN, Martha Hanna & the Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography; E.J.HUGHES, Ian M. Thom; CAROLINE & FRANK ARMINGTON: CANADIAN PAINTER-ETCHERS IN PARIS, Braide & Parke-Taylor / Art Gallery of Peel; MODERN PAINTING IN CANADA: A SURVEY OF MAJOR MOVEMENTS IN TWENTIETH CENTURY CANADIAN ART, The Edmonton Art Gallery. I’m doing the design and layout of OREST SEMCHISHEN: THROUGH ALBERTA EYES, an art book, and am getting a feel for the genre.
    For me: reading/writing the first draft of my current w.i.p., WITCH’S CRADLE, currently at the 155K mark.

  33. What *are* you reading now?
    An ARC of Kitty and the Midnight Hour by Carrie Vaughn. The cover blurb calls it “vintage Anita Blake meets The Howling,” but so far I’d say it’s more Tanya Huff’s Blood Noun books meet Pump Up the Volume with a little Underworld thrown in.
    And my copy of Finding Serenity: Anti-Heroes, Lost Shepherds and Space Hookers in Joss Whedon’s Firefly is paused in the middle ’cause I left it in my other bag.

  34. Reading Guy Gavriel Kay’s Lord of Emperors right now, plan to read Carl Hiaasen’s Skinny Dip next.

  35. The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien
    The Lord of the Rings

  36. Recently:
    Urban Shaman by C.E. Murphy
    On Writing by Stephen King
    The Book of Fours by Nancy Holder (figured it was a good idea to read something the instructor had written)
    Currently:
    Murder by Magic, and anthology edited by Rosemary Edgehill
    Every Which Way But Dead, by Kim Harrison (eagerly anticipated by me!)
    Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott (yes, the Stephen King and Anne Lamott books are recommended in the class I’m taking from Nancy Holder)
    In the queue:
    Brimstone
    The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse
    My husband is reading Blood Rites and eagerly anticipating Dead Beat–he put down A Game of Thrones for them πŸ™‚

  37. The Hidden Queen, Alma Alexander
    A fun epic fantasy romp.
    Lay Back the Darkness, Edward Hirsch
    Hifalutin poetry. Hirsch is the kind of guy who gives his poems titles like “Self Portrait as Hades and Persephone.” Heavy on the classics, but always with some weird, intimate twist.
    Mrs. Lieutenant, Mary Preston Gross
    A handbook of military etiquette for officers’ wives, published in 1966. For research.

  38. Carl Hiassen’s Lucky You
    Hi, found your live journal πŸ™‚
    I’m reading Carl Hiassen’s Lucky You and The Notebook–both very different from each other but very entertaining.

  39. Books being read.
    Currently reading:
    Idle Ideas in 1905, Jerome K. Jerome
    The Autobiography of John Bunyan
    The Pursuit of the House-boat on the river Styx, J.K. Bangs
    The Thomas Paine Reader, Penguin Publishing. (3rd time through)
    Just finished (this evening:
    The Sign of the Four, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
    Carl

Leave a Reply

