the first dozen answers

After some perusing, I’m reassigning blame for this questions meme to nihilistic_kid. And he has such a lovely way of answering these, which I’m going to employ myself. Just for fun. If you don’t see your answer here, it’s possible I might do it later. Some of these really seemed to be more essay question-ish and I’ll have to work my way through them. They’ll make great fodder for future entries if I’m feeling like a publishing rant, or three, but haven’t any ideas. (And, yeah, how often does *that* happen?)

Answers:

I don’t get distracted by anyt… ooooohhhhh, shiny!

Something Asian probably. I’ve already dabbled in French, and had Russian and German both for several years. Though I could also go for something really, really, really ridiculously ancient.

By studying forbidden texts, reciting certain incantations, and waiting until one has lost enough san points.

Everyone has voice. It’s finding someone with one that resonates that’s the trick.

None of the above, it is.

Thanks for your query. I apologize for this form response but the volume of mail I receive makes it impossible to send individual replies in every case.

You only get one question.

In fiction, as in life, there are no guarantees. 🙂

The city or the state?

I will be an agent until I die.

In Scotland; I wasn’t buying.

Yes.

I’ll take more questions here.

12 responses to “the first dozen answers

  1. As much fun as reading the answers is, I like guessing the questions.

  2. Something Asian probably. I’ve already dabbled in French, and had Russian and German both for several years. Though I could also go for something really, really, really ridiculously ancient.
    I keep planning to learn Cherokee…

    • Ooh, that sounds like fun. I’ve done Asian and Ancient, as well as Romance and Germanic, so I need a new category for the next language.

      • Endangered is a good category of language to learn. Not that Cherokee is terribly endangered, but…

        • How does one go about learning Cherokee? Are there schools and books and such, or are you pretty much on your own?

          • There are books, and even audiotapes–it’s one of the stronger languages, in that sense–and I think a few universities in the South and in Oklahoma even have classes in it. Technically there isn’t a Cherokee reservation per se out in Oklahoma (though that’s where the majority of the tribe is); it’s more like an area they share with the other Civilized Tribes.
            A friend of mine speaks Chickasaw. But I’d study that any day over Navajo. Any language with fourteen tones and five glottal stops and recursives and who-knows-what else… yipes. I had enough trouble tracking the four tones of Mandarin!

            • …ugh. I’ve been avoiding Mandarin for that very reason.
              And I’ve just thought, they should have language surveys like they have occupational surveys, to tell you what language you ought to learn. Do you prefer a difficult writing system or difficult pronunciation? Lots of cases or lots of ambiguity?

              • Mandarin is far easier than Cantonese–which has nine tones. And both are easier than Vietnamese, in which tones are unbelieveably paramount. To speak Vietnamese, you have to sort of ‘sing’ everything. Drop the tones and the word simply has no meaning.
                The writing system isn’t that difficult in Mandarin, but you have to get used to seeing “entire word” instead of the separate parts. It’s picto-phonetic; the left radical holds the meaning while the right indicates pronounciation (except on the older symbols, which predate the picto-phonetic system). Most of the kanji brought into Japan are the older ones; there’s about 1800 of those. On the plus side, the grammar in Chinese is so very, very easy…

          • There are books. (The amazon search results for “Cherokee language”.) I imagine there are schools, but not on the coasts. The Cherokee actually had a fairly reasonable web presence the last time I looked… A quick google found this list of resources. Scroll down until you find Cherokee.

  3. Heh. I’ve studied French for years, dabbled in Russian and Italian, and osmosed Portuguese (which improves my understanding of Spanish). But for the past couple of years I’ve been studying Japanese.
    Very different language! I seriously recommend it. You’ll start off thinking, OK, this isn’t so hard with markers to indicate the grammatical role (subject, object, etc) and verbs at the end. But then when you advance past the first 2 or 3 verb tenses… wow, so they have a conjugation for that? Makes me hunger to be an exolinguist like Hitoshi. 🙂

  4. I recognized my answer! Although, way to weasel out ….
    🙂

Leave a Reply

