Faking It

A little rant by moi over on RTB: http://www.romancingtheblog.com/blog/index.php?p=168

In other news, I spent very little of the weekend working (on manuscripts and related such things that is), so today will no doubt be quite busy.

5 responses to “Faking It

  1. Soudn likw you had a good weekend?
    The type of “faking it” that always annoys me is when one character overhears a conversation and gets a wrong impression, with a resulting misunderstanding that lasts for several chapters. I hate that.

    • I can only forgive that in top-notch quality, like the fast-patter comedy of the 30s and 40s. Lacking a deft touch, it falls flat; used as a basis for tension/drama, it’s outright annoying.

  2. We all do our share of manipulating– it’s part of the game . The key is how obvious we are about it. Hopefully, we use a subtle, (to quote you, “deft”) touch and not the 2×4 of Plot Machination.

  3. Just out of curiosity, how many manuscripts do you read on average in a week?

    • You know… I don’t know. I’m not even sure I want to hazard a guess. I know I read lots and lots of query letters and partial manuscripts (mostly on nights and weekends, it seems). I’m not sure how many full ones I read. Or how it breaks down into client and non-client. At the moment, all I know is the pile is high and I can’t get o’er it. Heh.

Leave a Reply

