Public Service Announcement

Over the last couple of weeks I have been getting an unprecedented amount of anonymous comments. For me, anyway. And I came to realize that somewhere along the way I had developed an unofficial policy on them. Back when I set up the LJ, I chose the settings that screened all anonymous posting. At that point, I think I had in mind an attempt to avoid spam-related things, like those that frequently appear on my food blog. At present, though, it seems to have also brought me to another realization… If I’m interested in what you have to say, I’m perhaps also interested in who you are. I’ve been unscreening (and sometimes replying) to those who sign their names when commenting without an LJ ID. But if said commenter chooses to be truly anonymous I’m apparently far less likely to unscreen. Since it might not occur to some people to sign their names in those instances, I thought I’d just take a moment to clarify where I stood.

Oh, and as long as I’m at it, the standard disclaimer — the opinions expressed here are mine, and not those of my company. I am not writing this in any sort of official capacity. I’m doing it because I feel like it. This is a *personal* journal, mostly for *my* thoughts on the state of publishing and on my particular agenting angle thereto. It’s about my job and my feelings and thoughts about that job. It’s for saying things to my friends who also happen to have LJs, and for being part of the writing community that has arisen on LJ (which happens to include a number of friends). It may occasionally include things which are not publishing-related in any sense – such as items about ectophilic music or my other interests. Comments are welcome. Conversations via comments, too. Some of them I find quite fascinating and a useful insight into the creative minds that tend to populate my friends list. I may, if the mood strikes me, answer questions posed about agenting and/or publishing. I may, sometimes, not have the time or the inclination. In short, this journal is more about me, than you. Blunt, but to the point (which I’m often accused of). To those of you who have always respected that, my appreciation and thanks. To those of you where were unaware or really never gave it a second thought, now you know. To anyone who thought otherwise, my apologies for the inconvenience.

We now return you to your (ir)regularly scheduled virtual world.

19 responses to “Public Service Announcement

  1. No comment.
    (signed)
    Jay Lake

  2. Seems like a day for apologetics. How odd.

  3. Hey, no inconvenience here. 😉 My own are wide open, even to anonymous postings, for the msot part — but I understand the concerns. The place I get the most spammers is in my Yahoo groups. >^~,0^<
       I guess I should also add that all opinions expressed by me are in my own peresonal opinion too. I do have one entry that’s readable only by me and in memories, but that’s for my own nefariuos reasons (actually, it’s just a handy place to find something when I want it).

  4. I left an anonymous message here once because I didn’t want to leave a paper trail that would identify someone else. Yeah, it doesn’t get more vague than that. 🙂
    puzzlehouse (a.k.a. Jena Snyder)

    • How intriguing…. and now I’m all curious to wonder whether I unscreened it or not and what it was about. Ah, well….
      I’m sure there are times when anonymous commenting is good idea, for one reason or another. And I’m not telling people *not* to do it – here or anywhere else. I’m just saying I might not necessarily acknowledge it. Heh.

      • That would require me to log out, post, and then log back in. I’m far too lazy for that.
        And yeah, I’m procrastinating. Whachagonnadoaboutit?
        *looks agent-ward*
        Oh.
        *scuttles back to revisions*

  5. Anon
    I wrote a few posts, but since I wasn’t a member I couldn’t sign in. Still can’t, actually. Hope you don’t mind another anonymous posting.
    I thought maybe you’d like to know how I found your blog. (always fun to see how the internet is linked)
    From my blog I went to Beth Ciotta’s blog (she writes for the same publisher as I do, so we are on the same chat list, and she invited me to check out her blog.) From her blog, I found Romancing the Blog, a rather fun blog with different ‘guest speakers’. I then began surfing the blogs listed on that site, started at the top and working my way down. (So hopelessly organized, lol.)
    I found this blog and since I am looking for an agent, I began to read your posts. (Seeking to become an informed author here)
    Voila!
    Jenny
    http://www.jennifermacaire.com
    BTW – It’s quite fun to check the spelling during the preview. It didn’t like the word blog, and has suggested bog, log, bloc, biog, bldg, blow, blob, blot, clog, flog, slog, Belg, Bligh, belong, & Bloch. So many choices. My head is spinning.

    • Re: Anon
      Hi, Jennifer — Thanks for dropping by again. Feel free to comment whenever you like. And I was wondering how many additional visitors I might get through RTB. So far I’m rather enjoying the entries myself.

  6. How *dare* you have a personal journal for your own thoughts! The very idea…
    (Anonymous)

  7. Ha! I will cleverly fool you. The name and photograph you see are actually someone else’s. In truth, my name is Studly Sexmuffin, and (according to my bathroom mirror), I look a lot like a young Brad Pitt, not one bit like my rundown 46 year old self.
    Shield’s up, Sulu!
    (it’s been a looooongggg day)

  8. You might be setting yourself up here…
    For an impromptu ‘Ask the Agent’ kind of like Andy Zack’s thread on the Absolute Write boards.
    Of course, if you’re up for that… 🙂

    • Re: You might be setting yourself up here…
      It happens anyway. And I’m not a-feared of it. I just wanted to be sure that I had at some point mentioned that I wasn’t going to promise to answer any question that happened to get tossed my way. You know, that it was totally out of the kindness of my heart and stuff. Heh.

      • Well, at least it’s out there!
        Of course, now that it’s out there, I have nothing to say.
        Ye gods, but that doesn’t happen very often.
        Thank you, anyhoo. 🙂

  9. Dear Anonymous Poster,
    Thank you for your comment. I apologize for this form response, but the volume of spammy anonymous comments I receive makes it impossible for me to bother replying to you personally.
    As to your post, I’m afraid I must refuse to become subject to your whims; there are plenty of people who read my LJ that have the chutzpah to post as themselves. I will however gladly entertain any thoughtful response or question posted that contains some relevance to the main entry.

    Arcaedia
    There, now we have the first LJ formR(esponse) 😉
    -=Jeff=-

  10. Dear Anonymous Commenter –
    Check the view screen, Uhuru. This is my journal, not a free-for-all FAQ of fluffy bunny amateurs who scatter about my feet like plankton, jealous of the ocean that holds them.
    Love,
    JJ
    Um. Yes, it perhaps lacks the tact and finesse the first Form Response held. But whatever works, yes?

Leave a Reply

