Interesting posts….

Over on her LJ, cpolk has a really great post about the evolution of an author as they discover their own writing identity and and interesting take on why so many don’t make it over the difficult spots. Read it here and ponder.

And tryslora posted to introducing herself and wondering what you might ask an agent if you only got to ask them one question. I’ll be wondering about that myself, and waiting to see what proves to be the most popular topic. So far no one’s been ambitious enough to step up to bat on that. But, it’s the weekend. *g* Anyway, it’s over here.

4 responses to “Interesting posts….

  1. re: difficult spots – I finally realized, after 2.5 years of full time writing, that the only way I’m ever going to finish a novel is if I quit trying to write something I don’t like. I had the brilliant idea that learning to write a romance novel would make the beginner’s level (for me) identifiable. Plus, it’s statistically more likely to sell, you don’t need an agent for category, etc. And, they all told me I should be writing what I love, but I was smarter than them. I thought I could apply my greater powers of intellect to the problem. Wrong.
    re: the one question I would ask an agent – this is assuming no previous contact: How do you feel about Fight Club? and if they give me a chance for a second question, I would ask if they’d have had enough sense to go for it (which is really the primary question), only in a more polite way, I hope. So far, the only question I’ve asked is: How do you feel about necrophilia in bad guys?

  2. Only one question? “May I send you my material to read?” Other than that… “What is your take on the ‘out of print’ clause as per most major publishers’ contracts?”
    But I’m probably not the usual questioner. *grin*
    After *counting on fingers and toes* eight or so years as a professional writer, I don’t think I’ve quite figured out what my writing identity is. I suspect I have several. Or none. But it’s itneresting to see so many of us are pondering similar questions. Must be a new year or something.

    • That’s a brilliant question and one I’ve actually asked. Then, I figured out I really have to learn to write better before I waste all that postage. I started sending thank you cards to the ones who wrote me nice rejection letters…like they need more mail? I guess with my slightly weird question, it’s like, different somehow. Like I care about them and what they think or feel about something, with the motive of *actually* caring while wishing to make some kind of vague impression (wasn’t that the girl who asked that weird question? maybe I’ll read more than this so-so first paragraph).
      It’s like you have to work on your product at the same time you have to start working on your self-promotion, or at least that’s the illusion under which I’ve been operating. But I really value your opinion, so I hope you’ll tell me right away if this is not a good idea, okay?

  3. Yes, I’m reading old posts 🙂
    My one question?
    Why do you even look at submissions that don’t follow guidelines? (I’ve heard that in contests, they have “weeders”, people that toss out any entry that doesn’t follow the instructions.)
    So I wonder why agents (or editors, for that matter), drowning under an endless sea of submissions, don’t just stamp them with a big “rejected: did not follow guidelines” and immediately return to sender.

Leave a Reply

